Click to view our fantastic subscription offers

Instant access to the F1 paddock

You have 5 views remaining

You have read 10 stories this month. After 15, you will need to register or subscribe.

Register with us for free to view 30 stories a month.

Or subscribe to AUTOSPORT+ for unlimited news stories and access to our exclusive subscriber-only content.

Our commitment to quality journalism

We've introduced metered access to AUTOSPORT which will ensure that the majority of our visitors can continue to view the site for free. But we think that is worth a small investment from those who use it most, so that we can continue to send the leading experts in their field to motor racing paddocks all over the world to break the latest news and produce the most compelling interviews and race reports.

Every visitor gets 15 free page views per month. Once you reach the limit you can register to get 30 views or choose one of our value-for-money subscription packages to continue viewing and to get additional access to a range of features including:

  • Unlimited access to AUTOSPORT with news and views from the paddock
  • Enjoy AUTOSPORT+: subscriber-only analysis, comment and top-quality pictures
  • Get AUTOSPORT magazine in a digital format on your computer or iPad every week
  • Full access to FORIX - the world's best motorsport statistics website

We greatly appreciate your continued support to keep AUTOSPORT at the forefront of motorsport coverage, and we look forward to welcoming you as a new subscriber.

Glenn Freeman Editor
Find out more about our subscriptions

D'Ambrosio claims first GP2 victory

Jerome D'Ambrosio, DAMS, Monaco 2010Jerome D'Ambrosio took his first GP2 victory in the Monaco sprint race.

The DAMS driver led all the way from pole, but his early efforts to build a lead were dashed when Coloni's Alberto Valerio and Arden's Rodolfo Gonzalez crashed simultaneously at different parts of the circuit and prompted a safety car.

That brought D'Ambrosio back within range of Giedo van der Garde, and he had the Addax car in his mirrors for virtually the rest of the race, finally crossing the line just 0.3 seconds clear.

There was a lot of scrapping behind them for third place, which eventually went to ART's Jules Bianchi after a determined drive and a couple of brave passing moves. Rapax's Luiz Razia had been on target for the final podium place for most of the race, but after seeing off an early challenge from Valerio (which ended with Valerio hitting the wall at the chicane), he soon found himself under pressure from Bianchi.

The Frenchman eventually found a way past, while Razia lost another spot when he made a mistake on the penultimate lap and allowed Trident's Johnny Cecotto to slip past into fourth. Yesterday's winner Sergio Perez (Addax) took the final point for sixth.

The race was sprinkled with incidents, starting with Dani Clos ripping a wheel off on the barriers on lap nine and ending Racing Engineering's interest in the afternoon, with Christian Vietoris having failed to make the start due to an engine problem.

There was also a slew of drivethrough penalties, with the victims including Pastor Maldonado (jump-start), Rodriguez (jump-start) and Oliver Turvey, Davide Valsecchi, and Fabio Leimer (all for cutting the first corner at the start).

Pos  Driver               Team                  Time/Gap
 1.  Jerome D'Ambrosio    DAMS                43m43.804s
 2.  Giedo van der Garde  Barwa Addax           + 0.351s
 3.  Jules Bianchi        ART                   + 1.078s
 4.  Johnny Cecotto       Trident               + 2.919s
 5.  Luiz Razia           Rapax                 + 6.572s
 6.  Sergio Perez         Barwa Addax           + 7.257s
 7.  Charles Pic          Arden                 + 7.903s
 8.  Josef Kral           Super Nova            + 8.837s
 9.  Marcus Ericsson      Super Nova            + 9.431s
10.  Sam Bird             ART                  + 10.046s
11.  Pastor Maldonado     Rapax                + 10.465s
12.  Adrian Zaugg         Trident              + 11.239s
13.  Vlado Arabadjiev     Coloni               + 12.591s
14.  Max Chilton          Ocean                + 25.246s
15.  Oliver Turvey        iSport               + 25.461s
16.  Davide Valsecchi     iSport               + 25.703s
17.  Fabio Leimer         Ocean                + 26.063s


     Michael Herck        DPR                 22 laps
     Ho-Pin Tung          DAMS                20 laps
     Giacomo Ricci        DPR                 17 laps
     Alberto Valerio      Coloni              14 laps
     Rodolfo Gonzalez     Arden               14 laps
     Dani Clos            Racing Engineering  8 laps
     Christian Vietoris   Racing Engineering  0 laps
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Bird penalised for cutting chicane
Perez secures maiden GP2 win
Valsecchi penalised over crash
Clos takes maiden pole in Monaco
Maldonado fastest in first practice