Click to view our fantastic subscription offers

Instant access to the F1 paddock

You have 10 views remaining

You have read 5 stories this month. After 15, you will need to register or subscribe.

Register with us for free to view 30 stories a month.

Or subscribe to AUTOSPORT+ for unlimited news stories and access to our exclusive subscriber-only content.

Our commitment to quality journalism

We've introduced metered access to AUTOSPORT which will ensure that the majority of our visitors can continue to view the site for free. But we think that is worth a small investment from those who use it most, so that we can continue to send the leading experts in their field to motor racing paddocks all over the world to break the latest news and produce the most compelling interviews and race reports.

Every visitor gets 15 free page views per month. Once you reach the limit you can register to get 30 views or choose one of our value-for-money subscription packages to continue viewing and to get additional access to a range of features including:

  • Unlimited access to AUTOSPORT with news and views from the paddock
  • Enjoy AUTOSPORT+: subscriber-only analysis, comment and top-quality pictures
  • Get AUTOSPORT magazine in a digital format on your computer or iPad every week
  • Full access to FORIX - the world's best motorsport statistics website

We greatly appreciate your continued support to keep AUTOSPORT at the forefront of motorsport coverage, and we look forward to welcoming you as a new subscriber.

Glenn Freeman Editor
Find out more about our subscriptions

Elias wins stunning Moto2 battle

Toni Elias took his first Moto2 victory in an incredible race at Jerez.

The former MotoGP rider had to claw his way back to the front after running wide while battling with Thomas Luthi a few laps from the finish of the truncated race.

The event had been red-flagged and restarted over 17 laps after a fluid spill caused eight riders to crash on lap two of the original race.

Elias was among the crashers, but was unhurt and fought mightily with Qatar winner Shoya Tomizawa, Luthi, Yuki Takahashi and Kenny Noyes for victory after the restart.

Having recovered from his incident with Luthi, Elias surged back through to the front, and held on in the lead despite running wide at the Dry Sack corner on the last lap. Tomizawa looked set to slip past, but a major wobble as he tried to accelerate out of the turn allowed Elias to stay in front and take victory.

Luthi, who picked his way up to join the lead dice after a low-key start, eventually finished third ahead of Takahashi, Simone Corsi and Sergio Gadea.

Noyes was ultimately pushed back to seventh, but had led on several occasions - once after an incredible third to first dive past Tomizawa and Elias into Dry Sack.

Julian Simon and Gabor Talmacsi completed a lead group of nine riders split by just four seconds at the flag.

Alex de Angelis missed the race after a horrendous crash in the warm-up. The former MotoGP rider suffered bruised lungs and was taken to hospital for further checks.

Pos  Rider                Bike            Time/Gap
 1.  Toni Elias           Moriwaki      29m58.726s
 2.  Shoya Tomizawa       Suter           + 0.190s
 3.  Thomas Luthi         Moriwaki        + 0.261s
 4.  Yuki Takahashi       Tech 3          + 0.558s
 5.  Simone Corsi         Motobi          + 1.449s
 6.  Sergio Gadea         Pons Kalex      + 1.496s
 7.  Kenny Noyes          Promo Harris    + 2.215s
 8.  Julian Simon         RSV             + 2.576s
 9.  Gabor Talmacsi       Speed Up        + 3.825s
10.  Yonni Hernandez      BQR             + 6.691s
11.  Jules Cluzel         Suter           + 8.123s
12.  Roberto Rolfo        Suter          + 11.965s
13.  Dominique Aegerter   Suter          + 12.190s
14.  Stefan Bradl         Suter          + 12.295s
15.  Anthony West         MZ             + 12.545s
16.  Scott Redding        Suter          + 12.678s
17.  Ratthapark Wilairot  Bimota         + 13.548s
18.  Claudio Corti        Suter          + 15.642s
19.  Axel Pons            Pons Kalex     + 16.740s
20.  Raffaele de Rosa     Tech 3         + 19.368s
21.  Fonsi Nieto          Moriwaki       + 20.956s
22.  Mike di Meglio       RSV            + 21.129s
23.  Vladimir Ivanov      Moriwaki       + 31.224s
24.  Robertino Pietri     Suter          + 31.275s
25.  Alex Debon           FTR            + 33.283s
26.  Lukas Pesek          Moriwaki       + 34.090s
27.  Bernat Martinez      Bimota         + 38.705s
28.  Karel Abraham        RSV            + 39.384s
29.  Arne Tode            Suter          + 43.839s
30.  Amadeo Llados        AJR            + 46.896s
31.  Valentin Debise      ADV            + 47.080s
32.  Alex Baldolini       ICP            + 47.216s
33.  Yannick Guerra       Moriwaki       + 47.777s
34.  Mashel Al Naimi      BQR            + 56.595s


     Ivan Moreno          Moriwaki      8 laps
     Niccolo Canepa       Scot          8 laps
     Mattia Pasini        Motobi        6 laps
     Hector Faubel        Suter         2 laps
     Joan Olive           Promo Harris  0 laps
     Andrea Iannone       Speed Up      0 laps
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Full MotoGP coverage on
Read Toby Moody's latest 'Out of the box' column
Tomizawa damage caused crash
Fluid spill chaos halts Moto2 race
Tomizawa claims pole then crashes