Find out more about our subscriptions

Tomizawa claims pole then crashes

Shoya TomizawaShoya Tomizawa maintained his strong Moto2 form by taking pole at Jerez - and then hanging on to the top spot despite crashing.

The Japanese rider had taken a shock victory in the new category's inaugural race at Losail last month, and then set a 1m44.372s early in the session in Spain today.

He fell shortly afterwards, but was able to get back to the garage, and found his rivals unable to beat his time in any case.

125cc champion Julian Simon came closest, though, producing a last-minute lap just 0.002 seconds shy of Tomizawa's mark.

Ex-MotoGP rider Toni Elias also made late gains to take third, ahead of Yuki Takahashi, Thomas Luthi and long-time second-place man Stefan Bradl, who was shuffled back in the final moments.

Pos  Rider                Bike          Time       Gap
 1.  Shoya Tomizawa       Suter         1m44.372s
 2.  Julian Simon         RSV           1m44.374s  + 0.002s
 3.  Toni Elias           Moriwaki      1m44.424s  + 0.052s
 4.  Yuki Takahashi       Tech 3        1m44.463s  + 0.091s
 5.  Thomas Luthi         Moriwaki      1m44.573s  + 0.201s
 6.  Stefan Bradl         Suter         1m44.631s  + 0.259s
 7.  Gabor Talmacsi       Speed Up      1m44.661s  + 0.289s
 8.  Sergio Gadea         Pons Kalex    1m44.694s  + 0.322s
 9.  Kenny Noyes          Promo Harris  1m44.712s  + 0.340s
10.  Simone Corsi         Motobi        1m44.722s  + 0.350s
11.  Anthony West         MZ            1m44.741s  + 0.369s
12.  Yonni Hernandez      BQR           1m44.779s  + 0.407s
13.  Alex Debon           FTR           1m44.783s  + 0.411s
14.  Jules Cluzel         Suter         1m44.810s  + 0.438s
15.  Raffaele de Rosa     Tech 3        1m44.943s  + 0.571s
16.  Claudio Corti        Suter         1m44.957s  + 0.585s
17.  Roberto Rolfo        Suter         1m45.063s  + 0.691s
18.  Fonsi Nieto          Moriwaki      1m45.149s  + 0.777s
19.  Alex Baldolini       ICP           1m45.179s  + 0.807s
20.  Joan Olive           Promo Harris  1m45.183s  + 0.811s
21.  Dominique Aegerter   Suter         1m45.375s  + 1.003s
22.  Axel Pons            Pons Kalex    1m45.404s  + 1.032s
23.  Arne Tode            Suter         1m45.412s  + 1.040s
24.  Hector Faubel        Suter         1m45.443s  + 1.071s
25.  Karel Abraham        RSV           1m45.448s  + 1.076s
26.  Alex de Angelis      Scot          1m45.515s  + 1.143s
27.  Scott Redding        Suter         1m45.591s  + 1.219s
28.  Mike Di Meglio       RSV           1m45.653s  + 1.281s
29.  Andrea Iannone       Speed Up      1m45.704s  + 1.332s
30.  Ratthapark Wilairot  Bimota        1m45.705s  + 1.333s
31.  Robertino Pietri     Suter         1m45.770s  + 1.398s
32.  Bernat Martinez      Bimota        1m45.962s  + 1.590s
33.  Lukas Pesek          Moriwaki      1m46.059s  + 1.687s
34.  Niccolo Canepa       Scot          1m46.084s  + 1.712s
35.  Vladimir Ivanov      Moriwaki      1m46.366s  + 1.994s
36.  Mattia Pasini        Motobi        1m46.529s  + 2.157s
37.  Amadeo Llados        AJR           1m46.550s  + 2.178s
38.  Valentin Debise      ADV           1m46.772s  + 2.400s
39.  Ivan Moreno          Moriwaki      1m46.806s  + 2.434s
40.  Yannick Guerra       Moriwaki      1m47.068s  + 2.696s
41.  Mashel Al Naimi      BQR           1m47.793s  + 3.421s
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Full MotoGP coverage on
Read Toby Moody's latest 'Out of the box' column
Tomizawa damage caused crash
Elias wins stunning Moto2 battle
Fluid spill chaos halts Moto2 race