Find out more about our subscriptions

Tomizawa takes historic debut win

Shoya Tomizawa on the Qatar Moto2 podiumShoya Tomizawa became the first man to win a Moto2 grand prix as the Technomag Suter rider took an unexpectedly comfortable maiden victory in the inaugural race at Qatar.

The 19-year-old Japanese kept his cool and maintained a hard-earned eventual 4s cushion as several more experienced stars battled it out for second position behind him.

The new Honda-powered, 16,000rpm limited category proved to be a great catalyst for slipstreaming and racing and early on the battle for the lead was one that included seven riders with racecraft more akin to a 125 race on display.

Spaniard Alex Debon eventually took second place with a brave manoeuvre down the inside of Frenchman Jules Cluzel, on another Suter, during the final lap, after a race-long battle between the two.

Debon, who thus gave debutant manufacturer FTR a podium at its first attempt, might even have won the race had he, Cluzel and fourth place finisher (and poleman) Toni Elias not got wrapped up in their own fight and lost touch with Tomizawa in the process.

Fifth position went to grand prix returnee Roberto Rolfo, who closed up to Elias in the late stages as the former MotoGP winner faded - the pre-season testing injuries taking their toll.

Mattia Pasini took sixth for JIR ahead of Thomas Luthi, Simone Corsi and another former MotoGP rider Gabor Talmacsi. Sergio Gadea was tenth.

Yuki Takahashi may have featured high in the order but the Japanese fell after passing Elias for what was then second place.

Meanwhile, front-row starters Alex de Angelis and Stefan Bradl failed to make it through lap one, as the San Marino rider went in to Turn 2 too deep, wobbled and was clipped by the unfortunate German.

125cc world champion Julian Simon was another early retirement with a technical problem on the Aspar bike, while Anthony West struggled and crashed out mid-race on the MZ.

Pos  Rider                Bike            Time/Gap
 1.  Shoya Tomizawa       Suter         41m11.768s
 2.  Alex Debon           FTR              +4.656s
 3.  Jules Cluzel         Suter            +4.789s
 4.  Toni Elias           Moriwaki         +6.978s
 5.  Roberto Rolfo        Suter            +7.178s
 6.  Mattia Pasini        Motobi          +11.804s
 7.  Thomas Luthi         Moriwaki        +11.861s
 8.  Simone Corsi         Motobi          +12.346s
 9.  Gabor Talmacsi       Speed Up        +13.821s
10.  Sergio Gadea         Pons Kalex      +20.189s
11.  Dominique Aegerter   Suter           +21.289s
12.  Alex Baldolini       ICP             +21.360s
13.  Fonsi Nieto          Moriwaki        +21.835s
14.  Karel Abraham        RSV             +21.973s
15.  Lukas Pesek          Moriwaki        +26.265s
16.  Mike Di Meglio       RSV             +26.265s
17.  Ratthapark Wilairot  Bimota          +26.599s
18.  Kenny Noyes          Promo Harris    +33.833s
19.  Andrea Iannone       Speed Up        +33.895s
20.  Claudio Corti        Suter           +40.992s
21.  Arne Tode            Suter           +43.119s
22.  Hector Faubel        Suter           +43.249s
23.  Scott Redding        Suter           +45.397s
24.  Valentin Debise      ADV             +46.472s
25.  Anthony Delhalle     BQR             +51.157s
26.  Vladimir Ivanov      Moriwaki        +54.252s
27.  Niccolo Canepa       Scot            +54.631s
28.  Robertino Pietri     Suter         +1m15.976s
29.  Bernat Martinez      Bimota        +1m16.222s
30.  Yannick Guerra       Moriwaki      +1m20.651s
31.  Mashel Al Naimi      BQR           +1m20.719s
32.  Joan Olive           Promo Harris  +1m41.990s

Not Classified

     Anthony West         Mz-Re            12 laps
     Yuki Takahashi       Tech 3           13 laps
     Vladimir Leonov      Suter            13 laps
     Yonny Hernandez      BQR              17 laps
     Axel Pons            Pons Kalex       17 laps
     Raffaele De Rosa     Tech 3           18 laps
     Alex De Angelis      Scot             0 laps
     Julian Simon         RSV              0 laps
     Stefan Bradl         Suter            0 laps
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Full MotoGP coverage on
Read Toby Moody's latest 'Out of the box' column
Breaking news feed
Live commentary feed
Elias takes pole for Moto2's debut