Find out more about our subscriptions

Vietoris fastest in final GP2 test

Christian VietorisChristian Vietoris set the quickest time of the final day of pre-season GP2 testing at Barcelona today.

The 21-year-old German, who finished runner-up to Jules Bianchi in last season's F3 Euro Series, set his best time during the morning running and it proved unbeatable for the rest of the day.

Fellwo series newcomer Oliver Turvey was second fastest for iSport with Vietoris's Racing Engineering team-mate Dani Clos third.

Rookies filled six of the top 10 places, with Charles Pic fourth for Arden and Bianchi fifth for ART despite completing just nine laps in the quicker morning session.

Old hands Jerome d'Ambrosio, who topped yesterday's times, and Pastor Maldonado were six and seventh. Josef Kral set exactly the same time as Maldonado in eighth, while his fellow rookie Super Nova team-mate Marcus Ericsson was just two thousandths of a second further back in ninth.

Sergio Perez completed the top 10 for Barwa Addax, just ahead of Fabio Leimer who was 11th despite setting a time just 0.020s slower than sixth-placed Maldonado. Asia Series champion Davide Valsecchi could only manage the 12th fastest time.

The GP2 season begins at Barcelona on May 7-9.

Morning times:
Pos Driver Team Time Laps
1. Christian Vietoris Racing Engineering 1m27.284s 21 2. Oliver Turvey iSport 1m27.555s 29 3. Dani Clos Racing Engineering 1m27.614s 14 4. Charles Pic Arden 1m27.786s 25 5. Jules Bianchi ART 1m27.916s 9 6. Jerome d'Ambrosio DAMS 1m27.937s 18 7. Pastor Maldonado Rapax 1m27.985s 14 8. Josef Kral Super Nova 1m27.985s 36 9. Marcus Ericsson Super Nova 1m27.987s 22 10. Sergio Perez Barwa Addax 1m27.998s 27 11. Fabio Leimer Ocean 1m28.005s 17 12. Davide Valsecchi iSport 1m28.086s 26 13. Giedo van der Garde Barwa Addax 1m28.119s 17 14. Alberto Valerio Coloni 1m28.141s 25 15. Michael Herck DPR 1m28.560s 18 16. Luiz Razia Rapax 1m28.689s 19 17. Vladimir Arabadzhiev Coloni 1m28.767s 25 18. Sam Bird ART 1m28.783s 12 19. Ho-Pin Tung DAMS 1m28.686s 24 20 Rodolfo Gonzalez Arden 1m29.369s 24 21. Max Chilton Ocean 1m29.486s 27 22. Adrian Zaugg Trident 1m29.791s 8 23. Johnny Cecotto Trident 1m29.868s 20
Afternoon times: 
Pos Driver Team Time Laps
1. Davide Valsecchi iSport 1m28.682s 32 2. Pastor Maldonado Rapax 1m28.715s 18 3. Fabio Leimer Ocean 1m28.716s 9 4. Sam Bird ART 1m28.856s 11 5. Oliver Turvey iSport 1m28.957s 25 6. Jules Bianchi ART 1m29.082s 16 7. Giedo van der Garde Barwa Addax 1m29.088s 11 8. Max Chilton Ocean 1m29.212s 29 9. Luiz Razia Rapax 1m29.289s 29 10. Jerome d'Ambrosio DAMS 1m29.502s 31 11. Charles Pic Arden 1m29.535s 35 12. Marcus Ericsson Super Nova 1m29.620s 47 13. Michael Herck DPR 1m29.808s 32 14. Johnny Cecotto Trident 1m29.870s 27 15. Adrian Zaugg Trident 1m30.088s 24 16. Josef Kral Super Nova 1m30.277s 38 17. Ho-Pin Tung DAMS 1m30.409s 34 18. Rodolfo Gonzalez Arden 1m30.531s 36 19. Vladimir Arabadzhiev Coloni 1m30.743s 19 20 Christian Vietoris Racing Engineering 1m30.834s 25 21. Giacomo Ricci DPR 1m30.864s 5 22. Dani Clos Racing Engineering 1m31.000s 8 23. Alberto Valerio Coloni 1m31.660s 6 24. Sergio Perez Barwa Addax 1m31.928s 24
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
D'Ambrosio tops Barcelona test