Find out more about our subscriptions

Tander holds on for race two win

Holden Racing Team's Garth Tander made up for yesterday's disappointment with victory in race two of the BRC Impco V8 Supercars GP Challenge at Albert Park.

Tander led from start to finish, fending off yesterday's winner James Courtney into turn one at the start, Shane van Gisbergen also pressing Tander hard on the opening lap before Tander began to ease away.

But a charging Jamie Whincup, who dropped to seventh early on lap one before charging his way back up the field, closed on Tander throughout the race, catching him in the final two laps but was unable to make a pass.

Courtney followed up yesterday's win with a third place, just holding off van Gisbergen on the final lap, with Mark Winterbottom finishing fifth after making a great start from ninth on the grid.

Another pair to move up the order were Will Davison and Steven Johnson, while Craig Lowndes, who was challenging for third place in the opening laps of the race, began to fall back soon after and despite an off-track excursion managed to hold onto eighth place, just ahead of Paul Dumbrell and Lee Holdsworth.

Todd Kelly's hopes of another strong finish disappeared early in the race, leaking brake fluid forcing him out in the opening laps.

Pos  Driver                Make                  Time
 1.  Garth Tander          Holden Commodore VE   25m58.1135s
 2.  Jamie Whincup         Holden Commodore VE   +   0.3771s
 3.  James Courtney        Ford Falcon FG        +   4.3456s
 4.  Shane Van Gisbergen   Ford Falcon FG        +   5.9893s
 5.  Mark Winterbottom     Ford Falcon FG        +   6.7433s
 6.  Will Davison          Holden Commodore VE   +  10.5137s
 7.  Steven Johnson        Ford Falcon FG        +  10.8146s
 8.  Craig Lowndes         Holden Commodore VE   +  14.1874s
 9.  Paul Dumbrell         Ford Falcon FG        +  15.2845s
10.  Lee Holdsworth        Holden Commodore VE   +  15.7980s
11.  Alex Davison          Ford Falcon FG        +  21.5556s
12.  Jason Bargwanna       Holden Commodore VE   +  22.5554s
13.  Michael Caruso        Holden Commodore VE   +  23.0405s
14.  Steven Richards       Ford Falcon FG        +  23.9013s
15.  Rick Kelly            Holden Commodore VE   +  25.4302s
16.  Jason Richards        Holden Commodore VE   +  25.6329s
17.  Tim Slade             Ford Falcon FG        +  28.2674s
18.  Greg Murphy           Holden Commodore VE   +  28.4874s
19.  Jason Bright          Holden Commodore VE   +  30.1819s
20.  Russell Ingall        Holden Commodore VE   +  32.0955s
21.  Dean Fiore            Ford Falcon FG        +  32.7666s
22.  Tony D'Alberto        Holden Commodore VE   +  33.9129s
23.  Andrew Thompson       Holden Commodore VE   +  36.3332s
24.  Daniel Gaunt          Holden Commodore VE   +  37.5354s
25.  Karl Reindler         Holden Commodore VE   +  37.8182s
26.  Jonathon Webb         Ford Falcon FG        +1m01.0493s
27.  Tony Ricciardello     Holden Commodore VE   +1m12.8459s
28.  Fabian Coulthard      Holden Commodore VE   +     1 lap

Not classified/retirements:

     Driver                Make                  Laps
     Todd Kelly            Holden Commodore VE     3
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Breaking news feed
Live commentary feed
Tander makes it two from three
Courtney snatches race one victory
Tander secures Albert Park pole