Find out more about our subscriptions

Filippi snatches late Sakhir pole

Luca Filippi, Meritus, Sakhir 2010Luca Filippi claimed his first GP2 pole since the 2007 season with a late quick lap at Sakhir today.

After a close early battle for the provisional top spot, it looked like Arden's Charles Pic was set to repeat his Abu Dhabi pole position.

The Frenchman's 2m07.178s lap after 13 minutes was almost half a second than the previous best at the time, and none of his rivals was able to beat it until the closing moments - when Meritus driver Filippi slipped ahead by 0.091s.

Arden had held a one-two with Pic and Javier Villa for some time, but in the final flurry of quick laps iSport's Oliver Turvey and Davide Valsecchi and Coloni's Alvaro Parente pushed the Spaniard back to sixth.

Jules Bianchi was only seventh in the best of the ART cars, ahead of returnee Luiz Razia (Rapax).

DPR's Giacomo Ricci continued his recent good form with ninth, while Alexander Rossi was 10th in the second Meritus entry, but is set to drop 10 places when his penalty for pushing Fabio Leimer off the road in the previous race is applied.

Pos  Driver                Team        Time       Gap
 1.  Luca Filippi          Meritus     2m07.087s
 2.  Charles Pic           Arden       2m07.178s  + 0.091s
 3.  Oliver Turvey         iSport      2m07.237s  + 0.150s
 4.  Davide Valsecchi      iSport      2m07.243s  + 0.156s
 5.  Alvaro Parente        Coloni      2m07.413s  + 0.326s
 6.  Javier Villa          Arden       2m07.432s  + 0.345s
 7.  Jules Bianchi         ART         2m07.710s  + 0.623s
 8.  Luiz Razia            Rapax       2m07.772s  + 0.685s
 9.  Giacomo Ricci         DPR         2m07.892s  + 0.805s
10.  Alexander Rossi       Meritus     2m08.027s  + 0.940s
11.  Sam Bird              ART         2m08.339s  + 1.252s
12.  Fabio Leimer          Ocean       2m08.428s  + 1.341s
13.  Dani Clos             Trident     2m08.467s  + 1.380s
14.  Michael Herck         DPR         2m08.634s  + 1.547s
15.  Christian Vietoris    DAMS        2m08.678s  + 1.591s
16.  Max Chilton           Addax       2m08.692s  + 1.605s
17.  Yelmer Buurman        Ocean       2m08.778s  + 1.691s
18.  Edoardo Piscopo       DAMS        2m08.858s  + 1.771s
19.  Vladimir Arabadzhiev  Rapax       2m08.863s  + 1.776s
20.  Josef Kral            Super Nova  2m09.454s  + 2.367s
21.  Will Bratt            Coloni      2m09.611s  + 2.524s
22.  Rodolfo Gonzalez      Addax       2m09.648s  + 2.561s
23.  Jake Rosenzweig       Super Nova  2m09.904s  + 2.817s
24.  Plamen Kralev         Trident     2m12.975s  + 5.888s
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Ricci ends DPR's victory drought
Filippi gives Meritus first GP2 victory
Turvey leads iSport 1-2 in practice