Find out more about our subscriptions

Winterbottom takes race two pole

Mark Winterbottom, FPR Ford, Abu Dhabi 2010Ford Performance Racing's Mark Winterbottom took a last-minute pole position for race two of the Yas V8 400 in Abu Dhabi.

Winterbottom completed his lap after the session's 20 minutes had run out, but having started it before the session ended, he jumped up from 19th to first, knocking race one winner Jamie Whincup down to second place on the grid.

Rick Kelly had a much happier time in qualifying than in yesterday's running, third-fastest, just ahead of Garth Tander with James Courtney close behind. Sixth and seventh were Craig Lowndes and Shane van Gisbergen, separated by less than a hundredth of a second, with Jason Richards very close behind.

It was a similar situation for ninth to 11th on the grid, with Alex Davison and Jason Bright split by exactly one hundredth of a second with Michael Caruso between them, closely followed by the second of the Kelly brothers, Todd.

After qualifying and finishing race one in the top ten, 15th for Lee Holdsworth was a disappointment, as was 21st for Paul Dumbrell after similar achievements. However, the most disappointed driver must be Will Davison, set to start from 22nd after showing pace in race one and with team-mate Garth Tander set to start from row two.

Pos  Driver                Car                   Time
 1.  Mark Winterbottom     Ford Falcon FG        1m58.0370s 
 2.  Jamie Whincup         Holden Commodore VE   1m58.2150s  + 0.1780s
 3.  Rick Kelly            Holden Commodore VE   1m58.3780s  + 0.3410s
 4.  Garth Tander          Holden Commodore VE   1m58.3930s  + 0.3560s
 5.  James Courtney        Ford Falcon FG        1m58.4420s  + 0.4050s
 6.  Craig Lowndes         Holden Commodore VE   1m58.5240s  + 0.4870s
 7.  Shane Van Gisbergen   Ford Falcon FG        1m58.5300s  + 0.4930s
 8.  Jason Richards        Holden Commodore VE   1m58.5520s  + 0.5150s
 9.  Alex Davison          Ford Falcon FG        1m58.5850s  + 0.5480s
10.  Michael Caruso        Holden Commodore VE   1m58.5880s  + 0.5510s
11.  Jason Bright          Holden Commodore VE   1m58.5950s  + 0.5580s
12.  Todd Kelly            Holden Commodore VE   1m58.6120s  + 0.5750s
13.  Steven Johnson        Ford Falcon FG        1m58.6630s  + 0.6260s
14.  Jason Bargwanna       Holden Commodore VE   1m58.8450s  + 0.8080s
15.  Lee Holdsworth        Holden Commodore VE   1m58.8480s  + 0.8110s
16.  Jonathon Webb         Ford Falcon FG        1m59.0430s  + 1.0060s
17.  Russell Ingall        Holden Commodore VE   1m59.1760s  + 1.1390s
18.  Tim Slade             Ford Falcon FG        1m59.3080s  + 1.2710s
19.  Fabian Coulthard      Holden Commodore VE   1m59.3730s  + 1.3360s
20.  Steven Richards       Ford Falcon FG        1m59.5270s  + 1.4900s
21.  Paul Dumbrell         Ford Falcon FG        1m59.5690s  + 1.5320s
22.  Will Davison          Holden Commodore VE   1m59.6830s  + 1.6460s
23.  Tony D'Alberto        Holden Commodore VE   1m59.7520s  + 1.7150s
24.  Dean Fiore            Ford Falcon FG        1m59.9270s  + 1.8900s
25.  Karl Reindler         Holden Commodore VE   1m59.9620s  + 1.9250s
26.  Andrew Thompson       Holden Commodore VE   2m00.0780s  + 2.0410s
27.  Paul Morris           Holden Commodore VE   2m00.5620s  + 2.5250s
28.  Daniel Gaunt          Holden Commodore VE   2m01.4380s  + 3.4010s
29.  Tony Ricciardello     Holden Commodore VE   2m02.0020s  + 3.9650s
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Whincup wins again in race two
Whincup wins opener in Abu Dhabi
Whincup on Abu Dhabi race one pole