Find out more about our subscriptions

Sainz clinches Dakar Rally victory

Carlos Sainz and Nasser Al-Attiyah after their Dakar one-twoCarlos Sainz resisted Volkswagen team-mate Nasser Al-Attiyah's late challenge to clinch his first Dakar Rally victory.

Al-Attiyah had reduced Sainz's lead - which at one stage reached 10 minutes - to just under three minutes going into the final stage.

But although Al-Attiyah was fastest again on today's San Rafael to Buenos Aires leg, he could not do enough in the final 206 kilometres to overhaul the former World Rally champion, who wrapped up victory with a cushion of 2m12s.

"It has been a very important day for me," said Sainz. "Spain has finally won the Dakar with cars and I'm delighted. I want to thank [co-pilot] Lucas [Cruz] for his great work and to all the team, and everybody who put their trust in me.

"We haven't had any problems, and the car doesn't have a scratch. I think we have done a fast but intelligent Dakar. It has been a very hard fight with my team-mate. We knew it would be that way. As I said before, I want to thank everyone who trusted in me."

Al-Attiyah had been determined to catch Sainz during the final days, but insisted he was still content with second.

"I'm quite happy," he said. "Second place is a good result for me because I've never been in this position.

"I was pushing, but everybody knows this stage is quite straight. Really I'm so happy with second place because I tried my best. It's a good feeling because we did a great job all Dakar without any mistakes or accidents with other cars."

Mark Miller finished third, to complete a one-two-three for VW as it repeated its 2009 win.

Sainz had held the lead from stage five onwards, as VW took command of the second half of the rally following a strong early challenge from the X-raid BMW team.

The BMWs had the pace to take the fight to VW, but not the consistency. Stage one winner Nani Roma crashed heavily on the second day, Guerlain Chicherit had to play catch-up from the start following severe electrical problems, and a broken propshaft on stage five cost Dakar legend Stephane Peterhansel a growing lead.

Peterhansel and Chicherit at least fought back to fourth and fifth, ahead of Carlos Sousa in the best of the ex-works Mitsubishis now run by the JMB Stradale team.

Last year's winner Giniel de Villiers was only seventh for VW after a string of early problems, while NASCAR regular Robby Gordon had a troubled fortnight in his Hummer and had to settle for eighth this time.

Stage 14:

Pos  Driver                Car         Time/Gap
 1.  Nasser Al-Attiyah     VW          1h19m42s
 2.  Carlos Sainz          VW             + 36s
 3.  Guerlain Chicherit    BMW            + 43s
 4.  Stephane Peterhansel  BMW          + 1m08s
 5.  Mark Miller           VW           + 1m39s
 6.  Giniel de Villiers    VW           + 1m41s
 7.  Robby Gordon          Hummer       + 1m58s
 8.  Orlando Terranova     Mitsubishi   + 2m28s
 9.  Robert Baldwin        Hummer       + 3m15s
10.  Nicolas Misslin       Mitsubishi   + 4m20s


Pos  Driver                Car           Time/Gap
 1.  Carlos Sainz          VW           47h10m00s
 2.  Nasser Al-Attiyah     VW             + 2m12s
 3.  Mark Miller           VW            + 32m51s
 4.  Stephane Peterhansel  BMW         + 2h17m21s
 5.  Guerlain Chicherit    BMW         + 4h02m49s
 6.  Carlos Sousa          Mitsubishi  + 4h31m45s
 7.  Giniel de Villiers    VW          + 5h10m19s
 8.  Robby Gordon          Hummer      + 6h02m24s
 9.  Orlando Terranova     Mitsubishi  + 6h04m47s
10.  Guilherme Spinelli    Mitsubishi  + 6h13m41s
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Q & A with Carlos Sainz
Sainz 'extremely proud' of Dakar win
Button interested in contesting Dakar
Sainz hits out at team-mate Al-Attiyah
Dakar set for final-stage showdown
Sainz wins stage and stretches lead
Chicherit wins, Al-Attiyah closes in
Sainz takes first stage win of 2010
Al-Attiyah closes in on Sainz in Dakar
Peterhansel wins again on stage eight
Volkswagen: Dakar is not won yet
Al-Attiyah wins stage, closes on Sainz
Peterhansel wins Dakar stage six
Sainz moves into Dakar Rally lead
Gordon takes surprise Dakar stage win
Fourth Dakar stage shortened
Peterhansel grabs stage win, lead
Al-Attiyah moves into Dakar lead
Spectator dies on first Dakar stage
Roma takes surprise Dakar lead
Dakar 2010 begins in Buenos Aires
Q & A with Volkswagen's Lutz Meyer
Preview: The 2010 Dakar in numbers
Volkswagen seeking Dakar glory again