Click to view our fantastic subscription offers

Instant access to the F1 paddock

You have 5 views remaining

You have read 10 stories this month. After 15, you will need to register or subscribe.

Register with us for free to view 25 stories a month.

Or subscribe to AUTOSPORT+ for unlimited news stories and access to our exclusive subscriber-only content.

Our commitment to quality journalism

We've introduced metered access to AUTOSPORT which will ensure that the majority of our visitors can continue to view the site for free. But we think that is worth a small investment from those who use it most, so that we can continue to send the leading experts in their field to motor racing paddocks all over the world to break the latest news and produce the most compelling interviews and race reports.

Every visitor gets 15 free page views per month. Once you reach the limit you can register to get 25 views or choose one of our value-for-money subscription packages to continue viewing and to get additional access to a range of features including:

  • Unlimited access to AUTOSPORT with news and views from the paddock
  • Enjoy AUTOSPORT+: subscriber-only analysis, comment and top-quality pictures
  • Get AUTOSPORT magazine in a digital format on your computer or iPad every week
  • Full access to FORIX - the world's best motorsport statistics website

We greatly appreciate your continued support to keep AUTOSPORT at the forefront of motorsport coverage, and we look forward to welcoming you as a new subscriber.

Glenn Freeman Editor
Find out more about our subscriptions

Huff storms to victory in Macau

Rob HuffRob Huff took a commanding victory for Chevrolet in the first World Touring Car race in Macau on Sunday - as runner-up finisher Gabriele Tarquini moved a step closer to capturing the drivers' title.

Huff led away cleanly at the rolling start as fellow front-row starter Andy Priaulx hit trouble - falling back into the pack and then clouting the wall at the exit of the first kink as he tried to fight off his rivals.

Priaulx's problems allowed Tiago Monteiro to move up to second spot, with Tarquini charging through the order from seventh to third by the time the cars braked into Lisboa Bend.

Huff opened up a cushion over Monteiro until lap eight, when the Portuguese SEAT driver slowed down - handing second place to Tarquini.

Third place eventually went to Jordi Gene, who finished ahead of Alain Menu and Yvan Muller now the only man capable of stopping Tarquini taking the world title, six points behind.

Monteiro dropped to sixth to give an extra place to fellow ORECA SEAT driver Muller, while the BMWs of Jorg Muller and Augusto Farfus also slowed on the final lap - giving two further places to Muller - to secure the front row of the grid for the day's second race.

Priaulx's accident on the first lap resulted in major damage to the right front of his car, but he was able to return to the pits for repairs rejoining the action just before the chequered flag.

Pos Driver                     Car             Time/Gap
 1. Robert Huff                Chevrolet       23m02.627s
 2. Gabriele Tarquini          SEAT                7.952s
 3. Jordi Gene                 SEAT                8.996s
 4. Alain Menu                 Chevrolet          10.328s
 5. Yvan Muller                SEAT               13.534s
 6. Tiago Monteiro             SEAT               15.517s
 7. Jorg Muller                BMW                15.782s
 8. Augusto Farfus             BMW                15.967s
 9. Alex Zanardi               BMW                16.301s
10. Sergio Hernandez           BMW                16.527s
11. Rickard Rydell             SEAT               16.618s
12. Nicola Larini              Chevrolet          18.476s
13. Tom Coronel                SEAT               21.356s
14. Felix Porteiro             BMW                21.961s
15. Tom Boardman               SEAT               29.923s
16. Franz Engstler             BMW                30.468s
17. Kristian Poulsen           BMW                44.647s
18. Norbertu Taniguchi         BMW                46.571s
19. Takayuki Aoki              BMW                56.298s
20. Henry Ho                   BMW              1m23.908s
21. Kit Meng Lei               BMW              2m02.061s
22. Jo Merszei                 BMW              2m02.321s
23. Jaap van Lagen             Lada               +2 laps
24. Liu Lic Ka                 BMW                +2 laps
25. Andre Couto                SEAT               +2 laps


    Andy Priaulx               BMW                 2 laps
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Breaking news feed
Live commentary feed
Engstler suffers broken collarbone
Tarquini relieved to secure title
Farfus wins race, Tarquini takes title
Thompson to miss Macau races
Muller, Tarquini cleared to race
Muller, Tarquini released from hospital
Huff grabs pole as title rivals collide
Huff tops practice, Tarquini crashes
Farfus fastest in Macau practice
Farfus quickest in Macau test session