Find out more about our subscriptions

McMurray to drive for EGR in 2010

Jamie McMurray, 2009Jamie McMurray will drive for Earnhardt Ganassi Racing in 2010, the Sprint Cup Series team will announce Wednesday.

McMurray will drive the #1 Chevrolet next year with main sponsorship coming again from Bass Pro Shops, sources have confirmed to AUTOSPORT. He will replace Martin Truex Jr, who leaves EGR at the end of the season to join Michael Waltrip Racing.

33-year-old McMurray, who finishes his four-year spell with Roush Fenway Racing at Homestead on Sunday, will rejoin former boss Chip Ganassi, who gave him the chance to break into the Sprint Cup scene in 2002.

McMurray made his debut in NASCAR's top series in October of 2002 at Talladega, replacing injured Ganassi driver Sterling Marlin at the wheel of the #40 car, which he took to victory a race later at Charlotte, in only his second outing in the series.

In 2003 he switched to the #42 car and a year later he had his best season statistically, finishing 11th in the championship in 2004 after scoring an impressive 23 top-ten finishes. In 2005 he ranked 12th in the standings before leaving the team.

This year Juan Pablo Montoya will claim Ganassi's best-ever result in the Sprint Cup standings, after making the Chase for the first time in the team's history. The Colombian and team-mate Truex have also scored five pole positions in total during the year, the most the squad has achieved in a single season.

Before the play-off format was implemented, Sterling Marlin finished third in the team's inaugural season after Ganassi bought majority ownership of the squad from current partner Felix Sabates.

A year ago Chip Ganassi Racing with Felix Sabates merged with Dale Earnhardt Inc, adding the #1 car to their fold and switching from Dodge to Chevrolet. Despite some talks with Toyota, the team will continue to race for the 'bowtie' brand in 2010.

  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
McMurray thrilled to rejoin Ganassi
McMurray hopeful of 2010 Cup drive