Click to view our fantastic subscription offers

Instant access to the F1 paddock

You have 5 views remaining

You have read 15 stories this month. After 20, you will need to register or subscribe.

Register with us for free to view 30 stories a month.

Or subscribe to AUTOSPORT+ for unlimited news stories and access to our exclusive subscriber-only content.

Our commitment to quality journalism

We've introduced metered access to AUTOSPORT which will ensure that the majority of our visitors can continue to view the site for free. But we think that is worth a small investment from those who use it most, so that we can continue to send the leading experts in their field to motor racing paddocks all over the world to break the latest news and produce the most compelling interviews and race reports.

Every visitor gets 20 free page views per month. Once you reach the limit you can register to get 30 views or choose one of our value-for-money subscription packages to continue viewing and to get additional access to a range of features including:

  • Unlimited access to AUTOSPORT with news and views from the paddock
  • Enjoy AUTOSPORT+: subscriber-only analysis, comment and top-quality pictures
  • Get AUTOSPORT magazine in a digital format on your computer or iPad every week
  • Full access to FORIX - the world's best motorsport statistics website

We greatly appreciate your continued support to keep AUTOSPORT at the forefront of motorsport coverage, and we look forward to welcoming you as a new subscriber.

Andrew Van de Burgt
Editor in Chief
Find out more about our subscriptions

Simon secures Valencia pole

Julian Simon, Aspar Aprilia, Valencia 2009Newly-crowned 125cc world champion Julian Simon will start tomorrow's final race of the season in Valencia from pole position, his seventh of the year.

The Aspar Aprilia rider from Spain set his pole lap with a quarter of an hour to go in the 40-minute session with a 1m41.472s effort.

That lap time was almost matched by Italian Simone Corsi, who with a handful of minutes to go managed to get within a mere 0.004s. The Fontana Aprilia rider will start the race from second, ahead of Simon's team-mate, Briton Bradley Smith. The front row will be completed by KTM's Marc Marquez.

Joan Olive (Derbi) will head the second row, followed by Spanish compatriot Nicolas Terol (Jack&Jones Aprilia), Marcel Schrotter (Mang Honda) and Pol Espargaro (Derbi).

Scott Redding set the ninth quickest time before crashing with one minute remaining. While the Blusens Aprilia rider was getting back on his feet in the gravel trap, he was almost hit by Sturla Fagerhaug's KTM, who had dropped his bike at the same spot.

Pos  Rider             Bike      Time               Laps
 1.  Julian Simon      Aprilia   1m41.472s           18
 2.  Simone Corsi      Aprilia   1m41.476s + 0.004s  20
 3.  Bradley Smith     Aprilia   1m41.830s + 0.358s  21
 4.  Marc Marquez      KTM       1m41.991s + 0.519s  19
 5.  Joan Olive        Derbi     1m42.033s + 0.561s  21
 6.  Nicolas Terol     Aprilia   1m42.092s + 0.620s  18
 7.  Marcel Schrotter  Honda     1m42.111s + 0.639s  21
 8.  Pol Espargaro     Derbi     1m42.162s + 0.690s  19
 9.  Scott Redding     Aprilia   1m42.233s + 0.761s  17
10.  Sandro Cortese    Derbi     1m42.246s + 0.774s  19
11.  Esteve Rabat      Aprilia   1m42.307s + 0.835s  19
12.  Efren Vazquez     Derbi     1m42.495s + 1.023s  17
13.  Andrea Iannone    Aprilia   1m42.556s + 1.084s  17
14.  Sergio Gadea      Aprilia   1m42.648s + 1.176s  13
15.  R.Krummenacher    Aprilia   1m42.767s + 1.295s  18
16.  Stefan Bradl      Aprilia   1m42.769s + 1.297s  18
17.  Cameron Beaubier  KTM       1m42.823s + 1.351s  20
18.  Takaaki Nakagami  Aprilia   1m42.874s + 1.402s  16
19.  D.Agerter         Derbi     1m42.913s + 1.441s  19
20.  Jonas Folger      Aprilia   1m42.948s + 1.476s  18
21.  Johann Zarco      Aprilia   1m43.176s + 1.704s  20
22.  Lorenzo Zanetti   Aprilia   1m43.441s + 1.969s  19
23.  Michael Ranseder  Aprilia   1m43.691s + 2.219s  19
24.  Luis Salom        Aprilia   1m44.081s + 2.609s  15
25.  Jasper Iwema      Honda     1m44.247s + 2.775s  19
26.  Joan Perello      Honda     1m44.264s + 2.792s  19
27.  Lorenzo Savadori  Aprilia   1m44.267s + 2.795s  18
28.  Daniel Webb       Aprilia   1m44.284s + 2.812s   3
29.  Tomoyoshi Koyama  Loncin    1m44.326s + 2.854s  18
30.  Sturla Fagerhaug  KTM       1m44.634s + 3.162s  18
31.  Jakub Kornfeil    Loncin    1m44.979s + 3.507s  21
32.  Ivan Maestro      Aprilia   1m45.136s + 3.664s  19
33.  Luca Marconi      Aprilia   1m45.530s + 4.058s  18
34.  Alberto Moncayo   Aprilia   1m45.575s + 4.103s  19
35.  Luca Vitali       Aprilia   1m47.151s + 5.679s  19
British GP competition
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Full MotoGP coverage on
Read Toby Moody's latest 'Out of the box' column
Simon beats Smith at Valencia