Find out more about our subscriptions

Filippi wins dramatic season finale

Luca FilippiLuca Filippi won today's final GP2 race of the season at the Algarve in a dramatic afternoon that included a massive start-line accident and the leading six drivers being penalised out of contention.

The race had been reduced by a lap due to Johnny Cecotto stopping on the first dummy grid, but when the cars formed up for the second time, it was Vitaly Petrov's turn to stall.

Several cars managed to avoid the stricken Barwa Addax car, but DPR's Michael Herck was less fortunate and ran into the back of it at high speed before spinning into the pitwall.

Petrov was able to walk away, but Herck needed to be extracted from his car by the medical team, and while the Romanian was reported to be conscious, he was taken to a nearby hospital for checks.

The crash left the main straight covered with debris and prompted a long delay while the mess was cleaned up. After nearly half an hour the field was led back out behind the safety car, with Coloni's Andreas Zuber leading from Davide Valsecchi, Kamui Kobayashi, Lucas di Grassi, Luca Filippi, Nico Hulkenberg and Pastor Maldonado.

Zuber backed the field up at the final corner in preparation for the green flag on lap six, but timed his charge too early and shot past the safety car as it was still steering into pitlane.

Valsecchi, Kobayashi, di Grassi, Hulkenberg and Maldonado all followed, and notification came shortly afterwards that all six had been issued with drivethrough penalties as a result.

By the time they had all served their punishments, Filippi been cycled up into the lead and subsequently cruised home for his first win of the season.

Arden's Sergio Perez followed him 4.1s later, with Filippi's Super Nova team-mate Javier Villa completing the podium.

Dani Clos (Racing Engineering) held off local hero Alvaro Parente (Ocean) for fourth, while Diego Nunes had to withstand similar pressure from iSport team-mate Giedo van der Garde to secure the final point for sixth.

Pos  Driver               Team                    Time/Gap
 1.  Luca Filippi         Super Nova          1h01m55.822s
 2.  Sergio Perez         Arden                   + 4.141s
 3.  Javier Villa         Super Nova              + 8.351s
 4.  Dani Clos            Racing Engineering      + 9.026s
 5.  Alvaro Parente       Ocean                   + 9.430s
 6.  Diego Nunes          iSport                 + 13.646s
 7.  Giedo van der Garde  iSport                 + 13.932s
 8.  Alberto Valerio      Piquet                 + 19.357s
 9.  Edoardo Mortara      Arden                  + 21.674s
10.  Davide Rigon         Trident                + 21.882s
11.  Jerome D'Ambrosio    DAMS                   + 24.031s
12.  Andreas Zuber        Coloni                 + 30.244s
13.  Karun Chandhok       Ocean                  + 33.425s
14.  Davide Valsecchi     Addax                  + 33.869s
15.  Lucas di Grassi      Racing Engineering     + 34.790s
16.  Nico Hulkenberg      ART                    + 35.036s
17.  Luiz Razia           Coloni                 + 39.546s
18.  Johnny Cecotto Jr    DPR                    + 50.684s
19.  Kamui Kobayashi      DAMS                   + 51.728s
20.  Pastor Maldonado     ART                    + 52.557s
21.  Ricardo Teixeira     Trident                  + 1 lap


     Roldan Rodríguez     Piquet              5 laps
     Michael Herck        DPR                 0 laps
     Vitaly Petrov        Addax               0 laps

Daytona Competition
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Penalty costs Perez second place
Herck disqualified from sixth place
Hulkenberg dominates in Portugal
Petrov takes pole in Portugal
Filippi tops drying practice in Portugal
Hulkenberg tops first Algarve session