Find out more about our subscriptions

Scheider wins as Audi dominates

Tom Kristensen, Timo Scheider, and Martin Tomczyk on the Barcelona podiumTimo Scheider extended his DTM championship lead with a comfortable win at Barcelona on Sunday, as Audi put in a dominant performance.

The reigning champion took the lead with a great start from fifth on the grid, and from there he eased away from the rest of the field.

Scheider made up his places by staying on the outside into Turn 1 while those ahead of him all scrapped for the inside line. Pole-sitter Tom Kristensen slotted in behind him on the exit of the corner, and after that the lead pair were never under any pressure from those behind.

Paul di Resta initially ran third for Mercedes, but he was jumped in the pits by Martin Tomczyk to give Audi its fourth lockout of the podium in eight races this season.

Di Resta fell further down the order after that, eventually losing out to Gary Paffett, Mattias Ekstrom and Bruno Spengler, which dropped him to seventh by the flag.

The cars ahead of him provided some mild interest in the closing stages, as Ekstrom closed in on fourth-placed Paffett.

Their scrap enabled Spengler to catch them both, and when Ekstrom tried to pass Paffett on the outside at the end of the backstraight with two laps to go, Spengler was there to snatch fifth on the exit of the next corner.

The battle for 2008-spec honours was fought out between Alexandre Premat, Oliver Jarvis and Maro Engel for most of the race, and it was the Frenchman that sustained constant pressure to take the final point in eighth by three tenths of a second.

Pos  Driver              Car           Time/Gap
 1.  Timo Scheider       Audi      1h08m38.739s
 2.  Tom Kristensen      Audi          + 2.157s
 3.  Martin Tomczyk      Audi          + 4.033s
 4.  Gary Paffett        Mercedes     + 23.469s
 5.  Bruno Spengler      Mercedes     + 23.992s
 6.  Mattias Ekström     Audi         + 24.463s
 7.  Paul di Resta       Mercedes     + 33.243s
 8.  Alexandre Premat    Audi         + 42.329s
 9.  Oliver Jarvis       Audi         + 42.719s
10.  Maro Engel          Mercedes     + 43.348s
11.  Mathias Lauda       Mercedes     + 54.921s
12.  Mike Rockenfeller   Audi         + 55.274s
13.  Ralf Schumacher     Mercedes     + 55.581s
14.  Jamie Green         Mercedes     + 59.976s
15.  Susie Stoddart      Mercedes       + 1 lap
16.  Tomas Kostka        Audi           + 1 lap
17.  Christian Bakkerud  Audi           + 1 lap
18.  Johannes Seidlitz   Audi          + 2 laps


     Markus Winkelhock   Audi      29 laps
     Katherine Legge     Audi      27 laps

Daytona Competition
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Spengler given Barcelona grid penalty
Kristensen takes Barcelona pole
Scheider fastest in Barcelona practice