Click to view our fantastic subscription offers

Instant access to the F1 paddock

You have 10 views remaining

You have read 5 stories this month. After 15, you will need to register or subscribe.

Register with us for free to view 60 stories a month.

Or subscribe to AUTOSPORT+ for unlimited news stories and access to our exclusive subscriber-only content.

Our commitment to quality journalism

We've introduced metered access to AUTOSPORT which will ensure that the majority of our visitors can continue to view the site for free. But we think that is worth a small investment from those who use it most, so that we can continue to send the leading experts in their field to motor racing paddocks all over the world to break the latest news and produce the most compelling interviews and race reports.

Every visitor gets 15 free page views per month. Once you reach the limit you can register to get 60 views or choose one of our value-for-money subscription packages to continue viewing and to get additional access to a range of features including:

  • Unlimited access to AUTOSPORT with news and views from the paddock
  • Enjoy AUTOSPORT+: subscriber-only analysis, comment and top-quality pictures
  • Get AUTOSPORT magazine in a digital format on your computer or iPad every week
  • Full access to FORIX - the world's best motorsport statistics website

We greatly appreciate your continued support to keep AUTOSPORT at the forefront of motorsport coverage, and we look forward to welcoming you as a new subscriber.

Glenn Freeman Editor
Find out more about our subscriptions

Aoyama claims his first pole of '09

Hiroshi Aoyama, Scot Honda, Misano qualifying 2009250cc championship leader Hiroshi Aoyama finally took his first pole position of the 2009 season in qualifying at Misano.

The Scot Honda rider produced a 1m38.867s lap right at the end of the session to beat Hector Barbera (Pepe World Aprilia) by just 0.008 seconds.

To make the result even sweeter for Aoyama, his main title rival Alvaro Bautista (Aspar Aprilia) struggled throughout the session and will line up only eighth on the grid, as the Spaniard continued his recent run of poor qualifying performances.

Reigning champion Marco Simoncelli, who is hunting for a third straight victory to continue his late charge back into title contention, was quickest for most of the session before Aoyama and Barbera pushed him back to third. Fellow home rider Mattia Pasini completed the front row.

Mike di Meglio was fifth quickest, ahead of Alex Debon, Hector Faubel and the frustrated Bautista.

Pos  Rider                Bike     Time       Gap
 1.  Hiroshi Aoyama       Honda    1m38.867s
 2.  Hector Barbera       Aprilia  1m38.875s  + 0.008s
 3.  Marco Simoncelli     Gilera   1m39.038s  + 0.171s
 4.  Mattia Pasini        Aprilia  1m39.068s  + 0.201s
 5.  Mike di Meglio       Aprilia  1m39.397s  + 0.530s
 6.  Alex Debon           Aprilia  1m39.416s  + 0.549s
 7.  Hector Faubel        Honda    1m39.602s  + 0.735s
 8.  Alvaro Bautista      Aprilia  1m39.825s  + 0.958s
 9.  Roberto Locatelli    Gilera   1m39.915s  + 1.048s
10.  Ratthapark Wilairot  Honda    1m39.969s  + 1.102s
11.  Karel Abraham        Aprilia  1m39.995s  + 1.128s
12.  Lukas Pesek          Aprilia  1m40.040s  + 1.173s
13.  Jules Cluzel         Aprilia  1m40.066s  + 1.199s
14.  Thomas Luthi         Aprilia  1m40.128s  + 1.261s
15.  Alex Baldolini       Aprilia  1m40.136s  + 1.269s
16.  Raffaele de Rosa     Honda    1m40.832s  + 1.965s
17.  Shoya Tomizawa       Honda    1m41.429s  + 2.562s
18.  Valentin Debise      Honda    1m41.903s  + 3.036s
19.  Balazs Nemeth        Aprilia  1m42.092s  + 3.225s
20.  Axel Pons            Aprilia  1m42.158s  + 3.291s
21.  Bastien Chesaux      Honda    1m42.957s  + 4.090s
22.  Vladimir Leonov      Aprilia  1m42.992s  + 4.125s
23.  Imre Toth            Aprilia  1m43.079s  + 4.212s
24.  Toby Markham         Aprilia  1m43.919s  + 5.052s
25.  Aitor Rodriguez      Aprilia  1m45.357s  + 6.490s

  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Full MotoGP coverage on
Read Toby Moody's latest 'Out of the box' column
Breaking news feed
Live commentary feed
Barbera beats Pasini to Misano win