Find out more about our subscriptions

Van der Garde wins sprint race at Spa

Giedo van der Garde wins the GP2 sprint race at SpaGiedo van der Garde picked up his second win of the season in an eventful sprint race at Spa this morning.

The Dutchman capitalised on a bad start by pole-sitter Edoardo Mortara to lead into the first corner and never looked seriously threatened, eventually crossing the line 3.1 seconds clear of Piquet's Roldan Rodriguez.

Completing a good day for iSport was Diego Nunes, who claimed the final podium place after withstanding constant pressure from Sergio Perez - the Arden rookie having delivered an outstanding drive from the back of the grid.

Davide Rigon ended what had been a difficult weekend for Trident with fifth, while Vitaly Petrov salvaged one point after passing Barwa Addax team-mate Davide Valsecchi late in the race for sixth.

There was little indication that any lessons had been learned from yesterday's high-attrition feature race, with Dani Clos driving into points leader Nico Hulkenberg at the start and triggering an accident that also accounted for Jerome D'Ambrosio.

Luca Filippi did not take the start, due to clutch problems on his Super Nova car.

Pastor Maldonado became the first victim of Les Combes when he got out of shape while trying to pass Mortara on lap 2. The pair touched, sending Maldonado bouncing off the track and backwards into the wall, while Mortara was knocked into Kamui Kobayashi, who was spun out of fourth.

Kobayashi and Mortara continued - albeit not before most of the field had gone past in Kobayashi's case - but Maldonado was stuck on the circuit and a safety car was needed so that his car could be removed.

Mortara's luck at surviving the Maldonado/Kobayashi crash ran out when Lucas di Grassi tried an over-ambitious move up the inside at the Bus Stop a few laps later and succeeded only in driving over the top of the Italian's car, putting both out of the race.

Yesterday's winner Alvaro Parente was also a casualty, although his demise was brought about by an engine failure rather than over-exuberance.


Pos  Driver            Team                     Time
 1.  G.van der Garde   iSport International     37:54.281
 2.  Roldan Rodriguez  Piquet GP                +   3.102
 3.  Diego Nunes       iSport International     +   4.998
 4.  Sergio Perez      Arden International      +   6.292
 5.  Davide Rigon      Trident Racing           +  13.809
 6.  Vitaly Petrov     Barwa Addax Team         +  17.459
 7.  Karun Chandhok    Ocean Racing Technology  +  18.800
 8.  Davide Valsecchi  Barwa Addax Team         +  20.039
 9.  Michael Herck     DPR                      +  21.403
10.  Javier Villa      Super Nova Racing        +  22.860
11.  Kamui Kobayashi   DAMS                     +  25.291
12.  Alberto Valerio   Piquet GP                +  36.045
13.  N.Panciatici      Durango                  +  48.746
14.  Ricardo Teixeira  Trident Racing           +  54.779

Not classified:

     Driver            Team                     Laps
     Edoardo Mortara   Arden International       4
     Lucas Di Grassi   Racing Engineering        4
     Alvaro Parente    Ocean Racing Technology   2
     Pastor Maldonado  ART Grand Prix            1
     Nico Hulkenberg   ART Grand Prix            0
     Daniel Clos       Racing Engineering        0
     J.D'Ambrosio      DAMS                      0
     Luca Filippi      Super Nova Racing         0

Fastest lap: Perez, 1:56.731 on lap 7
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Parente scores Ocean's first win
Di Grassi penalised for blocking
Parente grabs maiden pole at Spa
Maldonado quickest in Spa practice