Find out more about our subscriptions

Di Meglio takes maiden 250cc pole

Frenchman Mike di Meglio has taken his maiden 250cc pole position ahead of tomorrow's Indianapolis Grand Prix.

The reigning 125cc world champion, who crashed his Aspar Aprilia with just eight minutes remaining in the 45-minute session, snatched pole in the dying seconds thanks to a 1m44.341s lap, which pushed Scot Honda's Hiroshi Aoyama down to second.

The Japanese, who at that point had been leading proceedings for only two minutes, managed to improve his time on his last lap, but it was still 0.120s too slow.

Despite crashing his Gilera twice in the session, Marco Simoncelli still qualified third ahead of Pepe Aprilia's Hector Barbera.

The second row of the grid, completely filled by Aprilia machinery, will be headed by Jules Cluzel (Matteoni), ahead of Alvaro Bautista (Aspar), Mattia Pasini (Toth), and Alex Debon (Blusens).

The latter also crashed on the same bump that saw di Meglio and Simoncelli dropping their bikes.

Pos  Rider             Bike     Time
 1.  Mike Di Meglio    Aprilia  1m44.341s
 2.  Hiroshi Aoyama    Honda    1m44.461s + 0.120s
 3.  Marco Simoncelli  Gilera   1m44.553s + 0.212s
 4.  Hector Barbera    Aprilia  1m44.625s + 0.284s
 5.  Jules Cluzel      Aprilia  1m44.860s + 0.519s
 6.  Alvaro Bautista   Aprilia  1m44.955s + 0.614s
 7.  Mattia Pasini     Aprilia  1m45.158s + 0.817s
 8.  Alex Debon        Aprilia  1m45.192s + 0.851s
 9.  R.Wilairot        Honda    1m45.396s + 1.055s
10.  Hector Faubel     Honda    1m45.438s + 1.097s
11.  Lukas Pesek       Aprilia  1m45.439s + 1.098s
12.  R.Locatelli       Gilera   1m45.560s + 1.219s
13.  Alex Baldolini    Aprilia  1m45.778s + 1.437s
14.  Thomas Luthi      Aprilia  1m46.177s + 1.836s
15.  Raffaele De Rosa  Honda    1m46.195s + 1.854s
16.  Karel Abraham     Aprilia  1m46.908s + 2.567s
17.  Valentin Debise   Honda    1m47.838s + 3.497s
18.  Axel Pons         Aprilia  1m48.458s + 4.117s
19.  Imre Toth         Aprilia  1m48.650s + 4.309s
20.  Balazs Nemeth     Aprilia  1m49.143s + 4.802s
21.  Vladimir Leonov   Aprilia  1m49.807s + 5.466s
22.  Bastien Chesaux   Honda    1m49.888s + 5.547s
23.  Adam Roberts      Yamaha   1m51.296s + 6.955s
24.  Barrett Long      Yamaha   1m52.154s + 7.813s
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Full MotoGP coverage on
Read Toby Moody's latest 'Out of the box' column
Simoncelli beats Aoyama at Indy