Find out more about our subscriptions

Simon takes Indianapolis pole

Championship leader Julian Simon has taken pole position with his Aspar Aprilia ahead of the 125cc Indianapolis Grand Prix.

With five minutes to spare in the 40-minute session, the Spaniard shot to the top of the timesheets with a 1m49.337s lap to push Ajo Derbi's Sandro Cortese down to second.

The German, who grabbed provisional pole just a few seconds earlier, managed to further improve his lap time in the closing minutes, but in the end had to be content with being half a tenth slower than Simon.

Nicolas Terol took third spot with his Jack&Jones Aprilia, with Pol Espargaro's Derbi completing the front row after leading most of the session.

Simon's team-mate Bradley Smith looked able to fight for pole thanks to often setting the quickest time in the Brickyard's first three sectors. The Briton, however, would always lose out in the final sector, and in the end only qualified fifth.

The Aprilias of Simone Corsi (Fontana) and Sergio Gadea (Aspar) will take the sixth and seventh slots of the grid, with Derbi's Efren Vazquez rounding up the second row.

Stefan Bradl (Kiefer Aprilia), Marc Marquez (KTM) and Randy Krummenacher (Degraaf Aprilia) all suffered crashes during the session.

Pos  Rider             Bike     Time
 1.  Julian Simon      Aprilia  1m49.337s
 2.  Sandro Cortese    Derbi    1m49.387s + 0.050s
 3.  Nicolas Terol     Aprilia  1m49.537s + 0.200s
 4.  Pol Espargaro     Derbi    1m49.577s + 0.240s
 5.  Bradley Smith     Aprilia  1m49.585s + 0.248s
 6.  Simone Corsi      Aprilia  1m49.628s + 0.291s
 7.  Sergio Gadea      Aprilia  1m49.661s + 0.324s
 8.  Efren Vazquez     Derbi    1m49.703s + 0.366s
 9.  Marc Marquez      KTM      1m49.852s + 0.515s
10.  Joan Olive        Derbi    1m49.853s + 0.516s
11.  Daniel Webb       Aprilia  1m49.982s + 0.645s
12.  Andrea Iannone    Aprilia  1m50.140s + 0.803s
13.  Johann Zarco      Aprilia  1m50.340s + 1.003s
14.  Michael Ranseder  Aprilia  1m50.494s + 1.157s
15.  Stefan Bradl      Aprilia  1m50.530s + 1.193s
16.  Tomoyoshi Koyama  Loncin   1m50.547s + 1.210s
17.  D.Agerter         Derbi    1m50.721s + 1.384s
18.  Lorenzo Savadori  Aprilia  1m50.728s + 1.391s
19.  Takaaki Nakagami  Aprilia  1m50.916s + 1.579s
20.  Luis Salom        Aprilia  1m51.006s + 1.669s
21.  Jonas Folger      Aprilia  1m51.062s + 1.725s
22.  Esteve Rabat      Aprilia  1m51.470s + 2.133s
23.  Cameron Beaubier  KTM      1m51.527s + 2.190s
24.  Lorenzo Zanetti   Aprilia  1m51.539s + 2.202s
25.  R.Krummenacher    Aprilia  1m51.546s + 2.209s
26.  Scott Redding     Aprilia  1m51.569s + 2.232s
27.  Luca Marconi      Aprilia  1m52.334s + 2.997s
28.  Lukas Sembera     Aprilia  1m52.373s + 3.036s
29.  Alexis Masbou     Loncin   1m52.448s + 3.111s
30.  Miles Thornton    Aprilia  1m53.835s + 4.498s
31.  Luca Vitali       Aprilia  1m54.107s + 4.770s
32.  Ben Young         Aprilia  1m56.451s + 7.114s
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Full MotoGP coverage on
Read Toby Moody's latest 'Out of the box' column
Breaking news feed
Live commentary feed
Espargaro scores maiden win at Indy