Find out more about our subscriptions

Farfus fastest in second Brno practice

Augusto Farfus set the best time of the Saturday's second and final World Touring Car practice session at Brno, ahead of this afternoon's qualifying.

BMW led the way again, filling the first four places. Four of SEAT's works cars followed in fifth to eighth places, but the time difference to the quickest BMWs was more than 1.5 seconds.

The circuit was still damp from rain earlier this morning, but a drying line allowed Farfus to lap close to last year's dry weather race pace at the end of the session.

The Brazilian jumped to the top of the timesheet with his last flying lap to edge out fellow BMW driver Andy Priaulx - who also made a big improvement on his final lap - by a tenth of a second.

Jorg Muller was half a second back from Farfus in third, with Felix Porteiro fourth in his independent BMW.

Gabriele Tarquini was best of the SEATs, squeezing out a lap just half a tenth quicker than championship leader Yvan Muller, who was in turn half a tenth quicker than Rickard Rydell. The trio was 1.6 seconds shy of Farfus's pace though.

Tiago Monteiro completed the quartet of works SEATs, with Marin Colak making it five in a row in his independent Leon. Rob Huff rounded out the top 10 in the first of the Chevrolets.

Pos Driver                Car            Time           Gap
 1. Augusto Farfus        BMW            2m10.994s
 2. Andy Priaulx          BMW            2m11.159s   +0.165
 3. Jorg Muller           BMW            2m11.581s   +0.587
 4. Felix Porteiro        BMW            2m12.387s   +1.393
 5. Gabriele Tarquini     SEAT           2m12.596s   +1.602
 6. Yvan Muller           SEAT           2m12.631s   +1.637
 7. Rickard Rydell        SEAT           2m12.683s   +1.689
 8. Tiago Monteiro        SEAT           2m12.770s   +1.776
 9. Marin Colak           SEAT           2m13.105s   +2.111
10. Rob Huff              Chevrolet      2m13.151s   +2.157
11. Alex Zanardi          BMW            2m13.229s   +2.235
12. Tim Coronel           SEAT           2m13.266s   +2.272
13. Alain Menu            Chevrolet      2m13.272s   +2.278
14. Jordi Gene            SEAT           2m13.304s   +2.310
15. Stefano D'Aste        BMW            2m13.606s   +2.612
16. Jaap van Lagen        Lada           2m13.640s   +2.646
17. Franz Engstler        BMW            2m13.707s   +2.713
18. Sergio Hernandez      BMW            2m14.217s   +3.223
19. Vito Postiglione      BMW            2m14.616s   +3.622
20. Viktor Shapovalov     Lada           2m14.889s   +3.895
21. Kristian Poulsen      BMW            2m15.425s   +4.431
22. Nicola Larini         Chevrolet      2m15.672s   +4.678
23. Tom Coronel           SEAT           2m23.716s  +12.722
24. Tom Boardman          SEAT           2m25.171s  +14.177
25. Kirill Ladygin        Lada           2m25.513s  +14.519
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Breaking news feed
Live commentary feed
Hernandez takes maiden victory
Zanardi grabs Brno race one victory
Farfus grabs another pole at Brno
Priaulx tops first session at Brno