Find out more about our subscriptions

Grosjean on pole again in Monaco

Romain GrosjeanGP2 championship leader Romain Grosjean continued his superb form to lead an all-Addax front row in Monaco qualifying.

The Renault Formula 1 test driver, who took a pole, a win and a second place in the Barcelona season-opener and also topped this morning's practice session, beat his team-mate Vitaly Petrov by nearly half a second.

Grosjean was already on pole before throwing in his 1m19.498s lap with two minutes to go, putting the position beyond doubt.

ART's Nico Hulkenberg took third on his Monaco debut, followed by Fisichella driver Andreas Zuber and pre-season title favourite Lucas di Grassi (Racing Engineering).

Alvaro Parente gave the reconstituted Ocean team more reason for optimism with sixth place, while Piquet's Alberto Valerio celebrated a GP2 career-best ninth on the grid.

Pos  Driver               Team                Time       Gap
 1.  Romain Grosjean      Addax               1m19.498s
 2.  Vitaly Petrov        Addax               1m19.948s  + 0.450s
 3.  Nico Hulkenberg      ART                 1m20.053s  + 0.555s
 4.  Andreas Zuber        Fisichella          1m20.065s  + 0.567s
 5.  Lucas di Grassi      Racing Engineering  1m20.308s  + 0.810s
 6.  Alvaro Parente       Ocean               1m20.424s  + 0.926s
 7.  Jerome D'Ambrosio    DAMS                1m20.494s  + 0.996s
 8.  Luca Filippi         Super Nova          1m20.573s  + 1.075s
 9.  Alberto Valerio      Piquet              1m20.597s  + 1.099s
10.  Karun Chandhok       Ocean               1m20.608s  + 1.110s
11.  Javier Villa         Super Nova          1m20.634s  + 1.136s
12.  Sergio Perez         Arden               1m20.735s  + 1.237s
13.  Dani Clos            Racing Engineering  1m20.750s  + 1.252s
14.  Pastor Maldonado     ART                 1m20.806s  + 1.308s
15.  Giedo van der Garde  iSport              1m20.933s  + 1.435s
16.  Davide Valsecchi     Durango             1m21.072s  + 1.574s
17.  Kamui Kobayashi      DAMS                1m21.136s  + 1.638s
18.  Edoardo Mortara      Arden               1m21.204s  + 1.706s
19.  Davide Rigon         Trident             1m21.268s  + 1.770s
20.  Roldan Rodriguez     Piquet              1m21.390s  + 1.892s
21.  Diego Nunes          iSport              1m22.052s  + 2.554s
22.  Luiz Razia           Fisichella          1m22.447s  + 2.949s
23.  Giacomo Ricci        DPR                 1m22.746s  + 3.248s
24.  Michael Herck        DPR                 1m23.056s  + 3.558s
25.  Nelson Panciatici    Durango             1m23.479s  + 3.981s
26.  Ricardo Teixeira     Trident             1m25.710s  + 6.212s

  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Maldonado wins shortened sprint
Eight GP2 drivers given penalties
Grosjean dominates Monaco feature
Grosjean quickest in Monaco practice