Find out more about our subscriptions

Priaulx leads final practice at Pau

Andy PriaulxAndy Priaulx set the pace in today's second World Touring Car free practice session at Pau as BMW dominated again.

Priaulx best lap narrowly edged out the Schnitzer pairing of Jorg Muller and Augusto Farfus as the trio posted times nearly half a second quicker than any of the rivals around the French street circuit.

Tom Coronel set the fourth best time in his independent SUNRED SEAT Leon, with the Chevrolets of Alain Menu and Nicola Larini sandwiching the BMW Team Italy/Spain 320si of Sergio Hernandez.

Two more independent runners were next up in the shape of Felix Porteiro and Mehdi Bennani, with Rob Huff completing the top 10 in the third Chevrolet.

All five works SEATs were a long way off the pace with Rickard Rydell the quickest of them in 14th place, 1.6 seconds slower than Priaulx's time. Yvan Muller was 15th with Tiago Monteiro 17th, Gabriele Tarquini 19th and Jordi Gene 21st.

Pos Driver               Car          Time          Gap
 1. Andy Priaulx         BMW          1m23.396s
 2. Jorg Muller          BMW          1m23.568s  +0.172
 3. Augusto Farfus       BMW          1m23.609s  +0.213
 4. Tom Coronel          SEAT         1m23.871s  +0.475
 5. Alain Menu           Chevrolet    1m23.894s  +0.498
 6. Sergio Hernandez     BMW          1m24.098s  +0.702
 7. Nicola Larini        Chevrolet    1m24.176s  +0.780
 8. Felix Porteiro       BMW          1m24.306s  +0.910
 9. Mehdi Bennani        SEAT         1m24.523s  +1.127
10. Robert Huff          Chevrolet    1m24.544s  +1.148
11. Tom Boardman         SEAT         1m24.712s  +1.316
12. Franz Engstler       BMW          1m24.951s  +1.555
13. Jaap van Lagen       Lada         1m25.010s  +1.614
14. Rickard Rydell       SEAT         1m25.012s  +1.616
15. Yvan Muller          SEAT         1m25.013s  +1.617
16. Laurent Cazenave     BMW          1m25.042s  +1.646
17. Tiago Monteiro       SEAT         1m25.169s  +1.773
18. Marin Colak          SEAT         1m25.270s  +1.874
19. Gariele Tarquini     SEAT         1m25.470s  +2.074
20. Viktor Shapovalov    Lada         1m25.559s  +2.163
21. Eric Cayrolle        SEAT         1m25.650s  +2.254
22. Jordi Gene           SEAT         1m25.703s  +2.307
23. Kristian Poulsen     BMW          1m26.171s  +2.775
24. Kirill Ladygin       Lada         1m26.256s  +2.860
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Breaking news feed
Live commentary feed
SEAT granted break for diesels
Menu wins incident-packed race two
Huff wins race one at Pau
Nine drivers penalised after qualifying
SEAT critical of FIA after Pau qualifying
Priaulx snatches pole at Pau
Jorg Muller fastest in first Pau practice