Click to view our fantastic subscription offers

Instant access to the F1 paddock

You have 5 views remaining

You have read 15 stories this month. After 20, you will need to register or subscribe.

Register with us for free to view 30 stories a month.

Or subscribe to AUTOSPORT+ for unlimited news stories and access to our exclusive subscriber-only content.

Our commitment to quality journalism

We've introduced metered access to AUTOSPORT which will ensure that the majority of our visitors can continue to view the site for free. But we think that is worth a small investment from those who use it most, so that we can continue to send the leading experts in their field to motor racing paddocks all over the world to break the latest news and produce the most compelling interviews and race reports.

Every visitor gets 20 free page views per month. Once you reach the limit you can register to get 30 views or choose one of our value-for-money subscription packages to continue viewing and to get additional access to a range of features including:

  • Unlimited access to AUTOSPORT with news and views from the paddock
  • Enjoy AUTOSPORT+: subscriber-only analysis, comment and top-quality pictures
  • Get AUTOSPORT magazine in a digital format on your computer or iPad every week
  • Full access to FORIX - the world's best motorsport statistics website

We greatly appreciate your continued support to keep AUTOSPORT at the forefront of motorsport coverage, and we look forward to welcoming you as a new subscriber.

Andrew Van de Burgt
Editor in Chief
Find out more about our subscriptions

Grosjean starts GP2 season with win

Romain Grosjean and Vitaly Petrov, Barcelona GP2 podium 2009Romain Grosjean and Vitaly Petrov earned a Barwa Campos one-two in the opening race of the GP2 season at Barcelona today.

Grosjean controlled the race from start to finish and crossed the line 2.4 seconds clear of his team-mate, although the gap would have been greater had there not been a late safety car period to clean up an accident involving Grosjean's main title rival Lucas di Grassi.

By the time he retired the Brazilian was already well out of contention for a podium, with DAMS' Jerome D'Ambrosio having staked his claim for third.

Di Grassi's exit came when he was engaged in a three-car fight for fifth. Arden's Edoardo Motara had just passed the Racing Engineering car and ORT's Alvaro Parente was attempting to do the same when he snagged di Grassi's right-rear, triggering a collision that put both out on the spot - and left Parente's car perched atop di Grassi's.

It was a frustrating end to an already difficult afternoon for di Grassi, who was passed on the outside by Petrov at Turn 1, and also marked a painful start to the fledgling Ocean Racing Team's GP2 career, with Karun Chandhok having spun into retirement a few laps earlier.

Super Nova's Luca Filippi rebounded from the penalty that left him ninth on the grid to finish fourth ahead of Pastor Maldonado (ART), but more impressive were the efforts of those immediately behind them. Kamui Kobayashi's seventh for DAMS was a dramatic recovery from starting 22nd, and it was matched by iSport driver Giedo van der Garde's effort in getting up to sixth from 18th.

ART rookie Nico Hulkenberg was ninth after an eventful outing that included bogging down at the start, and making an extra pitstop near the end.

Pos  Driver               Team                Time
 1.  Romain Grosjean      Barwa Campos        1h02m22.709s
 2.  Vitaly Petrov        Barwa Campos           +  2.459s
 3.  Jerome D'Ambrosio    DAMS                   +  6.349s
 4.  Luca Filippi         Super Nova             +  8.346s
 5.  Pastor Maldonado     ART                    +  8.741s
 6.  Edoardo Mortara      Arden                  + 12.529s
 7.  Giedo van der Garde  iSport                 + 12.748s
 8.  Kamui Kobayashi      DAMS                   + 14.063s
 9.  Nico Hulkenberg      ART                    + 14.260s
10.  Javier Villa         Super Nova             + 15.200s
11.  Diego Nunes          iSport                 + 16.669s
12.  Nelson Panciatici    Durango                + 17.756s
13.  Michael Herck        DPR                    + 18.445s
14.  Sergio Perez         Arden                  + 18.595s
15.  Alberto Valerio      Piquet                 + 31.629s
16.  Luis Razia           Fisichella             +   1 lap
17.  Davide Rigon         Trident                +   1 lap


    Lucas di Grassi      Racing Engineering  32 laps
    Alvaro Parente       Ocean               32 laps
    Dani Clos            Racing Engineering  31 laps
    Karun Chandhok       Ocean               27 laps
    Roldan Rodriguez     Piquet              25 laps
    Davide Valsecchi     Durango             16 laps
    Ricardo Teixeira     Trident             11 laps
    Andi Zuber           Fisichella           5 laps
    Giacomo Ricci        DPR                  1 lap

  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Mortara beats Grosjean to sprint win
Grosjean pleased with strong start
Grosjean takes pole for GP2 opener
Super Nova drivers given penalties
Grosjean tops first Barcelona practice