Find out more about our subscriptions

Carroll takes double pole for Ireland

Adam CarrollAdam Carroll completed a qualifying double for title-chasing Team Ireland with pole position for the feature race at Brands Hatch this weekend.

The Irish car was second to title rival Switzerland in the first part of feature race qualifying, as Neel Jani gambled on using new tyres and power boost earlier than his rivals.

However, when Carroll used his power boost in the final part of qualifying, he blitzed Jani's time, as well as that of Clivio Piccione, who had briefly put Monaco on pole.

"We had a difficult morning today, so we just had to have faith in the new tyres," said Carroll. "This is a great start to the weekend."

Piccione will start from the front row alongside Carroll, while Jeroen Bleekemolen couldn't repeat his practice form and had to settle for third place.

Jani, who ended his day in the gravel at Druids after an off at the start of his final flying lap, will start fourth, while France and New Zealand will share the third row.

Behind the top six, John Martin put Australia up to seventh with a late charge, while China took eighth with Franky Cheng, ahead of title outsider Filipe Albuquerque in the Portuguese car.

Pos Driver                 Team             Time          Gap
 1. Adam Carroll           Ireland          1m10.902s
 2. Clivio Piccione        Monaco           1m11.085s  +0.183
 3. Jeroen Bleekemolen     Netherlands      1m11.146s  +0.244
 4. Neel Jani              Switzerland      1m11.338s  +0.436
 5. Nicolas Prost          France           1m11.543s  +0.641
 6. Earl Bamber            New Zealand      1m11.633s  +0.731
 7. John Martin            Australia        1m11.930s  +1.028
 8. Cheng Cong Fu          China            1m12.180s  +1.278
 9. Filipe Albuquerque     Portugal         1m12.270s  +1.368
10. Narain Karthikeyan     India            1m12.397s  +1.495
11. JR Hildebrand          USA              1m12.662s  +1.760
12. Alan van der Merwe     South Africa     1m12.730s  +1.828
13. Salvador Duran         Mexico           1m12.740s  +1.838
14. Dan Clarke             Great Britain    1m12.756s  +1.854
15. Daniel Morad           Lebanon          1m12.766s  +1.864
16. Michael Ammermuller    Germany          1m12.797s  +1.895
17. Felipe Guimaraes       Brazil           1m13.048s  +2.146
18. Vitantonio Liuzzi      Italy            1m13.131s  +2.229
19. Satrio Hermanto        Indonesia        1m13.560s  +2.658
20. Aaron Lim              Malaysia         1m14.203s  +3.301
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Jani gallant after losing A1GP title
Carroll credits team for Irish success
Ireland wins again and takes title
Carroll edges Ireland closer to title
Jani baffled by lack of pace
Carroll claims sprint race pole
Bleekemolen on top again at Brands
Bleekemolen quickest in first practice