Click to view our fantastic subscription offers

Instant access to the F1 paddock

You have 5 views remaining

You have read 10 stories this month. After 15, you will need to register or subscribe.

Register with us for free to view 30 stories a month.

Or subscribe to AUTOSPORT+ for unlimited news stories and access to our exclusive subscriber-only content.

Our commitment to quality journalism

We've introduced metered access to AUTOSPORT which will ensure that the majority of our visitors can continue to view the site for free. But we think that is worth a small investment from those who use it most, so that we can continue to send the leading experts in their field to motor racing paddocks all over the world to break the latest news and produce the most compelling interviews and race reports.

Every visitor gets 15 free page views per month. Once you reach the limit you can register to get 30 views or choose one of our value-for-money subscription packages to continue viewing and to get additional access to a range of features including:

  • Unlimited access to AUTOSPORT with news and views from the paddock
  • Enjoy AUTOSPORT+: subscriber-only analysis, comment and top-quality pictures
  • Get AUTOSPORT magazine in a digital format on your computer or iPad every week
  • Full access to FORIX - the world's best motorsport statistics website

We greatly appreciate your continued support to keep AUTOSPORT at the forefront of motorsport coverage, and we look forward to welcoming you as a new subscriber.

Glenn Freeman Editor
Find out more about our subscriptions

Farfus leads all-BMW front row

Augusto Farfus and Andy PriaulxAugusto Farfus and Andy Priaulx secured an all-BMW front row for the first of this weekend's World Touring Car races at Puebla.

SEAT's drivers had set the pace throughout the practice sessions, but in the decisive Q2 both Farfus and Priaulx lapped more than a second quicker than they had at any other stage of the weekend.

Farfus was surprised to take pole and doesn't expect that his qualifying speed will necessarily translate into race pace.

"We didn't expect pole, our target was just to make Q2," Farfus said. "It will be tough, we know we are not the quickest cars so it doesn't mean that we are going to win the race, we will have to see tomorrow."

Gabriele Tarquini was less than a tenth slower than Priaulx and will start third, but he and his SEAT his team-mates, Rickard Rydell, Yvan Muller and Tiago Monteiro, made smaller improvements to their practice pace than their BMW rivals.

Jorg Muller will start seventh ahead of lead independent Felix Porteiro, with Jordi Gene and Sergio Hernandez rounding out the top 10 after making mistakes on their flying laps in Q2.

Nicola Larini will start as the top Chevrolet in 11th place, having missed out on a place in Q2 by just 0.018 seconds. He will share the sixth row with Alex Zanardi, just ahead of Chevrolet pair Rob Huff and Alain Menu.

Pos Driver               Car            Q1          Q2
 1. Augusto Farfus       BMW            1:37.981    1:37.682
 2. Andy Priaulx         BMW            1:38.230    1:37.727
 3. Gabriele Tarquini    SEAT           1:38.047    1:37.793
 4. Rickard Rydell       SEAT           1:38.411    1:37.874
 5. Yvan Muller          SEAT           1:38.386    1:37.924
 6. Tiago Monteiro       SEAT           1:38.698    1:38.213
 7. Jorg Muller          BMW            1:38.375    1:38.287
 8. Felix Porteiro       BMW            1:38.872    1:38.525
 9. Jordi Gene           SEAT           1:38.250    1:38.749
10. Sergio Hernandez     BMW            1:38.434    1:38.952
11. Nicola Larini        Chevrolet      1:38.890
12. Alex Zanardi         BMW            1:39.174
13. Robert Huff          Chevrolet      1:39.294
14. Alain Menu           Chevrolet      1:39.400
15. Tom Coronel          SEAT           1:39.551
16. Stefano D'Aste       BMW            1:39.745
17. Kristian Poulsen     BMW            1:39.832
18. Franz Engstler       BMW            1:40.296
19. Marin Colak          SEAT           1:40.346
20. Tom Boardman         SEAT           1:40.436
21. George Tanev         BMW            1:40.795
22. Viktor Shapovalov    Lada           1:41.249
23. Kirill Ladygin       Lada           1:41.611
24. Jaap van Lagen       Lada           1:42.089
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Muller completes SEAT double
Rydell wins race one in Mexico
BMW surprised by qualifying pace
Rydell quickest again in Mexico
Rydell sets pace in practice at Puebla
Yvan Muller quickest in Puebla test