Find out more about our subscriptions

De Villiers wins as Al-Attiyah leads

Giniel de Villiers, Volkswagen, Dakar RallyGiniel de Villiers scored his first stage win of the 2009 Dakar rally to move into second position in the overall standings after five days of the event.

In the longest special of the rally so far, the South African mastered the sand dunes to reach the finish line in first place with a time of 5h47:43.

The 506-km special from Neuquen to San Rafael proved to be the trickiest of the rally so far, and both Carlos Sainz and Nasser Al-Attiyah lost valuable time.

Sainz, who had led the rally until today, lost over 15 minutes after making a driving mistake and tearing off his front hood following a problem with his steering.

The Spaniard has dropped to third position in the overall standings, while BMW rival Al-Attiyah has moved into the lead, with de Villiers in second, just two minutes and 24 seconds adrift.

"I had to do 200 kms without power steering and the car was very hard to drive over the dunes," said Sainz. "And then in one of them we flipped the car."

Qatari Al-Attiyah also hit trouble after his engine began overheating.

"We stopped twice because the engine was overheating," said the new leader. "The temperature was very, very high and so we had to stop and clean everything."

De Villiers' teammate Dieter Depping was second in the stage, ahead of American Robby Gordon in the Hummer.

Stephane Peterhansel was the quickest Mitsubishi today, finishing in fifth positioon.

WTCC champion Yvan Muller, competing in a single-seater SMG buggy, was forced out of the event after his car caught fire following a collision with the truck of Portuguese driver Elisabete Jacinto. None of them were injured.

Stage 5 results:

Pos  Driver           Car              Time
 1.  De Villiers      Volkswagen         5h47:43
2. Depping Volkswagen + 2.18
3. Gordon Hummer + 4.12
4. Al Attiyah BMW + 5.23
5. Peterhansel Mitsubishi + 7.12
6. Miller Volkswagen + 8.59
7. Alphand Mitsubishi + 10.02
8. Roma Mitsubishi + 13.38
9. Sainz Volkswagen + 15.42
10. Chicherit BMW + 38.27

Overall standings after stage 5:

Pos  Driver           Car             Time
 1.  Al Attiyah       BMW             18h44:37
 2.  De Villiers      Volkswagen      +  02.24
 3.  Sainz            Volkswagen      +  06.33
 4.  Peterhansel      Mitsubishi      +  13.44
 5.  Miller           Volkswagen      +  19.55
 6.  Roma             Mitsubishi      +  24.29
 7.  Gordon           Hummer          +  41.48
 8.  Alphand          Mitsubishi      +  42.04
 9.  Depping          Volkswagen      +1h16.40
10.  Spinelli         Mitsubishi      +1h39.26

  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Breaking news feed
Live commentary feed
Winners praise Dakar's new location
VW delighted with Dakar victory
De Villiers claims historic Dakar win
Roma wins stage 13 for Mitsubishi
Dakar shortens yet another stage
BMW boss critical of Dakar organisers
De Villiers takes stage win and lead
Sainz crashes out of Dakar rally
Dakar stage cancelled due to fog
Sainz scores sixth Dakar stage win
Tenth Dakar stage shortened
Sainz takes fifth Dakar stage victory
Sainz stretches lead with stage win
Interview with Alister McRae
Volkswagen cautious despite lead
Mitsubishi admit Lancer needs time
Sainz retakes Dakar lead with win
Dakar shortens seventh stage too
Al-Attiyah disqualified from Dakar
Al-Attiyah fastest in sixth Dakar stage
Sixth Dakar stage shortened
Terry died of a pulmonary edema
Q & A with Nassar Al-Attiyah
French rider found dead at Dakar rally
Britons hurt in Dakar crash
Sainz takes second Dakar stage win
Al-Attiyah fastest again on day three
Sainz takes Dakar lead on day two
Team frustrated by Chicherit's error
Al-Attiyah wins Dakar's opening stage
VW expect straight fight with Mitsubishi
Mitsubishi: New car not a risk
Al-Attiyah praises new Dakar BMW
Takuma Aoki returns for Dakar Rally
Dakar's new era gets underway