Find out more about our subscriptions

Corvettes win qualifying race

The Phoenix Corvette team dominated the FIA GT qualifying race at Bucharest this afternoon, with their cars crossing the line first and second, well clear of their closest opposition.

Jean-Denis Deletraz withstood pressure from Fabrizio Gollin in the closing states to bring the No.5 car home first, following Marcel Fassler's excellent stint from pole position.

Gollin took over from Mike Hezemans and chased down Deletraz but ran out of laps to overtake his teammate.

The Vitaphone Maseratis were over 20 seconds down the road in third and fourth places, ahead of the Sellaslagh Corvette which survived a late scared when Xavier Maassen lost control under braking and punted off Thomas Biagi's Ferrari.

The Peka Racing Saleen was sixth, with the Gigawave Aston Martin and the Spartak Racing Lamborghini Murcielago the only other GT1 finishers.

The Jetalliance team withdrew their two Aston Martins - one of which had been qualified on the front row by Karl Wendlinger - before the start with a technical issue on the grounds of safety which they refused to discuss.

Andrew Kirkaldy won the GT2 class in the No.56 CR Scuderia Ferrari, passing both the No.50 AF Corse and No.62 Scuderia Ecosse Ferraris in the last quarter of an hour.

Gianmaria Bruni took second in class in the No.50 car when Jamie Davies spun the No.62 out of second place.

Emmanuel Collard finished third in class in the No.61 Prospeed Porsche, benefiting from Davies' spin, and also from Biagi being knocked off by Maassen. Biagi rejoined to finish fifth behind the BMS Scuderia Italia Ferrari.

Pos  Cl   Drivers              Car                     Time
 1.  GT1  Fassler/Deletraz     Corvette Z06            1h00:47.952
 2.  GT1  Hezemans/Gollin      Corvette Z06              +   0.613
 3.  GT1  Bertolini/Bartels    Maserati MC 12            +  23.170
 4.  GT1  Negrao/Ramos         Maserati MC 12            +  30.369
 5.  GT1  Bouchut/Maassen      Corvette Z06              +  36.924
 6.  GT1  Kumpen/Longin        Saleen S7                 +  40.810
 7.  GT1  Simonsen/Peter       Aston Martin DB9          +  43.593
 8.  GT1  Kox/Rusinov          Lamborghini Murcielago    +   1 lap
 9.  GT2  Bell/Kirkaldy        Ferrari F430              +   1 lap
10.  GT2  Vilander/Bruni       Ferrari F430              +   1 lap
11.  GT2  Westbrook/Collard    Porsche 911 GT3 RS        +   1 lap
12.  GT2  Malucelli/Ruberti    Ferrari F430              +  2 laps
13.  GT2  Montanari/Biagi      Ferrari F430              +  2 laps
14.  GT2  Niarchos/Mullen      Ferrari F430              +  2 laps
15.  GT2  Babini/Davies        Ferrari F430              +  2 laps
16.  GT2  Camathias/Rigon      Ferrari F430              +  2 laps
17.  GT2  Felbermayr Jr/Lieb   Porsche 911 GT3 RS        +  3 laps
18.  GT2  Felbermayr/Lietz     Porsche 911 GT3 RS        +  3 laps
19.  G2   Kuppens/Leinders     Gillet Vertigo            +  4 laps
20.  GT2  Perez Companc/Russo  Ferrari F430              + 18 laps
21.  GT2  Moser/Del Monte      Ferrari F430              + 23 laps

  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Breaking news feed
Live commentary feed
Fassler/Deletraz win at Bucharest
Fassler sees off Wendlinger for pole