Find out more about our subscriptions

Pedrosa leads Honda one-two at Jerez

Dani Pedrosa, Repsol Honda, Jerez testingRepsol Honda riders Dani Pedrosa and Nicky Hayden took a one-two on the final day of MotoGP testing at Jerez.

The duo were comfortably faster than their rivals in the last test of 2007, with third-placed Jorge Lorenzo (Fiat Yamaha) 0.9 seconds slower than Pedrosa's benchmark. Both Pedrosa and Hayden set their times on qualifying-style runs near the end of the day.

Lorenzo's former 250cc class rival Andrea Dovizioso took fourth on the JiR Scot Honda, just ahead of the rider he replaced at the team - Gresini Honda's Shinya Nakano.

Tech 3 Yamaha riders Colin Edwards and James Toseland were sixth and eighth, split by Nakano's teammate Alex de Angelis.

Valentino Rossi was only 11th fastest and left the test early, having struggled with the hand injury that he sustained at the season finale at Valencia earlier this month.

Champions Ducati also had a quiet day, with Casey Stoner flying back to Australia for further treatment on his injured shoulder after his crash yesterday, and his new teammate Marco Melandri only managing 12th.

The only significant incident of the day involved LCR Honda's Randy de Puniet, who crashed twice but was able to continue without injury and set the ninth-fastest time.

Pos  Rider                 Bike           Time
 1.  Dani Pedrosa          Honda     (M)  1:38.562
 2.  Nicky Hayden          Honda     (M)  1:38.848
 3.  Jorge Lorenzo         Yamaha    (M)  1:39.464
 4.  Andrea Dovizioso      Honda     (M)  1:39.747
 5.  Shinya Nakano         Honda     (B)  1:40.121
 6.  Colin Edwards         Yamaha    (M)  1:40.184
 7.  Alex de Angelis       Honda     (B)  1:40.185
 8.  James Toseland        Yamaha    (M)  1:40.213
 9.  Randy de Puniet       Honda     (M)  1:40.398
10.  John Hopkins          Kawasaki  (B)  1:40.984
11.  Valentino Rossi       Yamaha    (B)  1:41.538
12.  Marco Melandri        Ducati    (B)  1:41.619
13.  Taddy Okada           Honda     (M)  1:41.715
14.  Niccolo Canepa        Ducati    (B)  1:41.793
15.  Anthony West          Kawasaki  (B)  1:42.343
16.  Vittoriano Guareschi  Ducati    (B)  1:42.850
17.  Shinichi Ito          Ducati    (B)  1:43.001

  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Full MotoGP coverage on
Read Toby Moody's latest 'Out of the box' column
Pedrosa fastest as Stoner is injured
Stoner goes fastest at Jerez