Find out more about our subscriptions

Bourdais leads warm-up, Legge stars

Sebastien Bourdais showed some startling pace in warm-up for this afternoon's Champ Car race at Hermanos Rodriguez Autodromo, lapping the 2.774-mile course over half a second quicker than pole-sitter Will Power.

The Newman/Haas/Lanigan Racing ace, on the day of his final Champ Car race before heading to Formula One, carved a fastest lap of 1:26.373, at an average speed of 115.620 mph. Power's Team Australia car stopped out on the circuit with a suspected electrical glitch, but was soon able to rejoin the session.

The surprise performance of the session came from Katherine Legge, who was third fastest in her Dale Coyne Racing machine. She was on a little-used set of tyres, and the car appeared to be cured of its major understeer problem from qualifying.

Alex Figge only completed five laps for Pacific Coast Motorsports, but teammate Mario Dominguez, suffering from a nasty bout of flu, showed improved form to clock tenth fastest time.

The drivers also practised their standing starts, and apart from a stall from Power, it went without a hitch. Best starters appeared to be Neel Jani (PKV Racing), Paul Tracy (Forsythe Championship Racing) and Bourdais.

Pos  Driver            Team                           Time
 1.  S.Bourdais        Newman/Haas/Lanigan Racing     1:26.373      
 2.  Will Power        Team Australia                 1:26.942 + 0.569
 3.  Katherine Legge   Dale Coyne Racing              1:26.984 + 0.611
 4.  Simon Pagenaud    Team Australia                 1:27.268 + 0.895
 5.  Oriol ServiÓ      PKV Racing                     1:27.294 + 0.921
 6.  Justin Wilson     RuSPORT                        1:27.334 + 0.961
 7.  Robert Doornbos   Minardi Team USA               1:27.468 + 1.095
 8.  Graham Rahal      Newman/Haas/Lanigan Racing     1:27.497 + 1.124
 9.  Nelson Philippe   Conquest Racing                1:27.899 + 1.526
10.  Mario Dominguez   Pacific Coast Motorsports      1:27.927 + 1.554
11.  Dan Clarke        Minardi Team USA               1:28.001 + 1.628
12.  Paul Tracy        Forsythe Championship Racing   1:28.100 + 1.727
13.  David MartÝnez    Forsythe Championship Racing   1:28.245 + 1.872
14.  Alex Tagliani     Rocketsports Racing            1:28.398 + 2.025
15.  Neel Jani         PKV Racing                     1:28.488 + 2.115
16.  Alex Figge        Pacific Coast Motorsports      1:28.664 + 2.291
17.  Bruno Junqueira   Dale Coyne Racing              1:28.778 + 2.405
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Bourdais takes emotional final win
Power takes stunning Mexico pole
Bourdais clings to top spot in Mexico
Bourdais and Wilson shine in Q1
Wilson tops practice in Mexico