Find out more about our subscriptions

Spa GP2: Felipe Nasr scores fourth victory of the season

Felipe Nasr closed the gap on points leader Jolyon Palmer with his fourth GP2 Series victory of the season at Spa-Francorchamps on Sunday morning.

Having grabbed the lead at the first corner, Carlin racer Nasr won the sprint race by five seconds from Johnny Cecotto Jr, who passed Palmer's DAMS car for second on lap two and took the fight to Nasr thereafter.

Trident's Cecotto got to within 0.6s of Nasr, but was never quite close enough to attempt a pass, and dropped well back in the closing stages as Nasr secured the bonus point for fastest lap.

Behind Palmer, Mitch Evans took fourth place right at the end for Russian Time when Hilmer's poleman Daniel Abt suffered a technical issue at Raidillon that handed him the position.

Stoffel Vandoorne finished sixth for ART, ahead of a charging Stefano Coletti, who came through to finish seventh from 24th on the grid.

His Racing Engineering team-mate Raffaele Marciello, who won on Saturday, spun on the opening lap and could only recover to 14th.

Palmer still leads the standings, but by the reduced margin of 32 points over Nasr.

Results - 18 laps:

Pos Driver               Team                     Time/Gap
 1. Felipe Nasr          Carlin                   36m14.575s
 2. Johnny Cecotto Jr    Trident                  +5.157s
 3. Jolyon Palmer        DAMS                     +7.157s
 4. Mitch Evans          Russian Time             +7.598s
 5. Daniel Abt           Hilmer                   +10.019s
 6. Stoffel Vandoorne    ART                      +10.648s
 7. Stefano Coletti      Racing Engineering       +14.038s
 8. Andre Negrao         Arden                    +20.391s
 9. Tom Dillmann         Caterham                 +21.675s
10. Julian Leal          Carlin                   +22.486s
11. Marco Sorensen       MP                       +26.510s
12. Stephane Richelmi    DAMS                     +28.491s
13. Daniel de Jong       MP                       +29.790s
14. Raffaele Marciello   Racing Engineering       +36.284s
15. Nathanael Berthon    Lazarus                  +40.238s
16. Rio Haryanto         Caterham                 +51.786s
17. Simon Trummer        Rapax                    +54.342s
18. Kimiya Sato          Campos                   +54.604s
19. Conor Daly           Lazarus                  +54.874s
20. Arthur Pic           Campos                   +55.574s
21. Adrian Quaife-Hobbs  Rapax                    +59.175s
22. Takuya Izawa         ART                      +59.423s
23. Rene Binder          Arden                    +1m16.668s


    Sergio Canamasas     Trident                  13 laps
    Artem Markelov       Russian Time             7 laps
    Jon Lancaster        Hilmer                   3 laps

  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Breaking news feed
Live commentary feed
Marciello beats Vandoorne for first win
Vandoorne beats Palmer to pole
Leal tops Spa GP2 practice