Find out more about our subscriptions

GP2 Hungary: Coletti loses podium, Marciello loses race two pole

Stefano Coletti podium, GP2 Hungary

Two post-race penalties have totally rearranged the outcome of Saturday's Hungaroring GP2 race, with both of Racing Engineering's drivers affected.

Stefano Coletti has lost his second place finish after being found at fault for the collision with Julian Leal that removed the Colombian driver from the race on lap five.

He had 20 seconds added to his time, which drops him to the bottom of the top 20.

His team-mate Raffaele Marciello, who was due to start the sprint race from pole position after finishing the feature race in eighth, was found guilty of passing Stoffel Vandoorne under the safety car.

He too was given a 20-second penalty, and will start behind Coletti.

Marciello explained: "When I entered the pits, I had Vandoorne next to me, who all of the sudden slowed down in front of the safety car line, which caused me to pass him unintentionally.

"This means I was handed a post-race penalty and instead of starting from pole position I will be at the back of the field."

Adrian Quaife-Hobbs and Takuya Izawa are promoted to second and third, with Nathanael Berthon taking Marciello's sprint race pole.

Revised results - 35 laps:

Pos  Driver               Team                  Time/Gap
 1.  Arthur Pic           Campos              1h00m18.627s
 2.  Adrian Quaife-Hobbs  Rapax                   +3.151s
 3.  Takuya Izawa         ART                     +3.661s
 4.  Jolyon Palmer        DAMS                    +3.828s
 5.  Daniel Abt           Hilmer                  +5.111s
 6.  Felipe Nasr          Carlin                  +5.190s
 7.  Stoffel Vandoorne    ART                     +6.213s
 8.  Nathaneal Berthon    Lazarus                 +7.038s
 9.  Tom Dillmann         Caterham                +7.605s
10.  Marco Sorensen       MP                      +8.102s
11.  Simon Trummer        Rapax                   +8.398s
12.  Mitch Evans          Russian Time            +8.756s
13.  Conor Daly           Lazarus                +11.641s
14.  Daniel de Jong       MP                     +13.436s
15.  Andre Negrao         Arden                  +14.224s
16.  Artem Markelov       Russian Time           +15.944s
17.  Jon Lancaster        Hilmer                 +16.066s
18.  Stefano Coletti      Racing Engineering     +22.787s*
19.  Raffaele Marciello   Racing Engineering     +25.954s*
20.  Rene Binder          Arden                    -1 lap

* Inc 20s post-race penalty


     Rio Haryanto         Caterham              30 laps
     Sergio Canamasas     Trident               29 laps
     Jonny Cecotto Jr     Trident               22 laps
     Kimiya Sato          Campos                10 laps
     Stephane Richelmi    DAMS                   5 laps
     Julian Leal          Carlin                 5 laps
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Breaking news feed
Live commentary feed