Find out more about our subscriptions

Hungaroring GP3: Richie Stanaway holds on to head Status one-two

GP3 podium, Hungary 2014

Richie Stanaway took his second GP3 victory of the season, holding off the determined challenge of Robert Visoiu before heading a Status Grand Prix one-two in Hungary.

Stanaway led from the start after taking pole position, although Visoiu rocketed up alongside him from fourth on the grid in his Arden car.

The duo fought out an intense battle thereafter, and was never separated by more than 0.6s until their duel came to a head with two laps to go.

Having tried to pass at Turns 1 and 2, Stanaway slid wide at Turn 5 as he struggled with his fading tyres. He appeared to have lost the place when he ran wide at Turn 6, but Visoiu got wheelspin and almost spun just as he looked certain to take victory.

Visoiu then ran wide onto the grass at Turn 7, allowing Nick Yelloly to nip past him to make it a Status 1-2 as Stanaway made good his escape.

Visoiu recovered to finish a close third, with points leader Alex Lynn finishing fourth after dropping back at the start.

As title contender Jimmy Eriksson only claimed a point for 10th, Stanaway has moved into second in the championship, 27 points behind Lynn.

Emil Bernstorff finished fifth, right behind Lynn, with Patric Niederhauser just holding off Arden team-mate Jann Mardenborough for sixth.

Dino Zamparelli finished eighth, so will start tomorrow's reversed-grid race from pole.

Results - 17 laps:

Pos  Driver               Team        Time/Gap
 1.  Richie Stanaway      Status    27m36.453s
 2.  Nick Yelloly         Status       +2.606s
 3.  Robert Visoiu        Arden        +2.833s
 4.  Alex Lynn            Carlin       +3.997s
 5.  Emil Bernstorff      Carlin       +4.314s
 6.  Patric Niederhauser  Arden        +5.762s
 7.  Jann Mardenborough   Arden        +6.352s
 8.  Dino Zamparelli      ART         +12.039s
 9.  Dean Stoneman        Manor       +18.093s
10.  Jimmy Eriksson       Koiranen    +18.762s
11.  Marvin Kirchhofer    ART         +20.182s
12.  Santiago Urrutia     Koiranen    +20.361s
13.  Patrick Kujala       Manor       +21.650s
14.  Alex Fontana         ART         +22.048s
15.  Roman de Beer        Trident     +24.933s
16.  Alfonso Celis        Status      +26.700s
17.  Luis Sa Silva        Carlin      +26.976s
18.  Riccardo Agostini    Hilmer      +27.363s
19.  Nelson Mason         Hilmer      +29.576s
20.  Mitchell Gilbert     Trident     +30.627s
21   Pal Varhaug          Jenzer      +30.946s
22   Matheo Tuscher       Jenzer      +31.655s
23   Christopher Hoher    Jenzer      +31.922s
24   Ryan Cullen          Manor       +33.168s
25   Carmen Jorda         Koiranen  +1m12.000s


     Sebastian Balthasar  Hilmer       11 laps
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Niederhauser wins second GP3 race
Stanaway claims first GP3 pole