Find out more about our subscriptions

German GP: Lewis Hamilton allowed to start from 20th on grid

Lewis Hamilton, Mercedes, German GP qualifying crash, Hockenheim 2014

Lewis Hamilton will start from his 20th slot on the German Grand Prix grid after the FIA accepted that changing brake disc suppliers did not breach Formula 1's regulations.

As AUTOSPORT reported earlier, if Mercedes could show the governing body that the switch of brake discs did not constitute a change of car specification then it would be allowed and a pitlane start would not be required.

Following meetings between the FIA and the Brackley-based team at Hockenheim on Sunday morning, it was agreed that the Carbone Industrie discs that Hamilton would be using were a similar weight to the Brembos he had on the car for qualifying.

Article 34.2 of F1's sporting regulations states that: "It must be clear that any replacement part a team wishes to fit is similar in mass, inertia and function to the original."

Although Hamilton qualified 15th, damage from his qualifying crash meant he needed a new gearbox fitted - which has caused a five-place grid penalty.

The only other penalty applied after qualifying was a three-place demotion for Sauber's Esteban Gutierrez following his collision with Pastor Maldonado at Silverstone.

The full starting grid for the German GP is:

Pos  Driver             Team/Car
 1.  Nico Rosberg       Mercedes
 2.  Valtteri Bottas    Williams-Mercedes
 3.  Felipe Massa       Williams-Mercedes
 4.  Kevin Magnussen    McLaren-Mercedes
 5.  Daniel Ricciardo   Red Bull-Renault
 6.  Sebastian Vettel   Red Bull-Renault
 7.  Fernando Alonso    Ferrari
 8.  Daniil Kvyat       Toro Rosso-Renault
 9.  Nico Hulkenberg    Force India-Mercedes
10.  Sergio Perez       Force India-Mercedes
11.  Jenson Button      McLaren-Mercedes
12.  Kimi Raikkonen     Ferrari
13.  Jean-Eric Vergne   Toro Rosso-Renault
14.  Romain Grosjean    Lotus-Renault
15.  Adrian Sutil       Sauber-Ferrari
16.  Esteban Gutierrez  Sauber-Ferrari
17.  Jules Bianchi      Marussia-Ferrari
18.  Pastor Maldonado   Lotus-Renault
19.  Kamui Kobayashi    Caterham-Renault
20.  Lewis Hamilton     Mercedes
21.  Max Chilton        Marussia-Ferrari
22.  Marcus Ericsson    Caterham-Renault
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Breaking news feed
Live commentary feed