Find out more about our subscriptions

Hockenheim GP3: Marvin Kirchhofer takes maiden series pole

Marvin Kirchhofer grabbed pole position for round seven of the GP3 Series at Hockenheim for ART Grand Prix.

In a thrilling session, where the top spot was in doubt until the very end, points leader Alex Lynn was toppled in the closing seconds by Kirchhofer's lap of 1m28.647s to ensure that German Grand Prix Saturday started well for the home fans.

Lynn's best effort was 1m28.706s, and he missed out on the points for pole by just 0.059 seconds in his Carlin machine.

Nick Yelloly will start third for Status GP as he continues to search for his first victory of 2014. Lynn's team-mate Emil Bernstorff qualified fourth to make it three Britons in the top four.

Lynn's title rival Jimmy Eriksson was fifth fastest for Koiranen GP, but was three tenths off the quickest time. Eriksson is carrying a five-place grid penalty after the Silverstone round.

Mitch Gilbert's second-ever GP3 qualifying session ended much more satisfactorily than his first at Silverstone, where he backflipped at high speed, and he qualified sixth, just ahead of Dino Zamparelli and Silverstone winner Richie Stanaway.

Matheo Tuscher and Dean Stoneman round out the top 10.

Pos Driver               Team        Time       Gap     Laps
 1. Marvin Kirchhofer    ART         1m28.647s           14
 2. Alex Lynn            Carlin      1m28.706s  +0.059s  13
 3. Nick Yelloly         Status      1m28.749s  +0.102s  12
 4. Emil Bernstorff      Carlin      1m28.910s  +0.263s  15
 5. Jimmy Eriksson       Koiranen    1m28.949s  +0.302s  14
 6. Mitchell Gilbert     Trident     1m28.995s  +0.348s  13
 7. Dino Zamparelli      ART         1m29.133s  +0.486s  13
 8. Richie Stanaway      Status      1m29.205s  +0.558s  13
 9. Matheo Tuscher       Jenzer      1m29.212s  +0.565s  13
10. Dean Stoneman        Manor       1m29.247s  +0.600s  13
11. Alex Fontana         ART         1m29.329s  +0.682s  14
12. Roman de Beer        Trident     1m29.338s  +0.691s  15
13. Robert Visoiu        Arden       1m29.400s  +0.753s  14
14. Jann Mardenborough   Arden       1m29.405s  +0.758s  13
15. Riccardo Agostini    Hilmer      1m29.516s  +0.869s  13
16. Alfonso Celis        Status      1m29.531s  +0.884s  11
17. Patric Niederhauser  Arden       1m29.672s  +1.025s  13
18. Sebastian Balthasar  Hilmer      1m29.849s  +1.202s  1?
19. Pal Varhaug          Jenzer      1m29.870s  +1.223s  15
20. Luis Sa Silva        Carlin      1m29.951s  +1.304s  12
21. Nelson Mason         Hilmer      1m30.082s  +1.435s  16
22. Ryan Cullen          Manor       1m30.180s  +1.533s  15
23. Patrick Kujala       Manor       1m30.272s  +1.625s   8
24. Adderly Fong         Jenzer      1m30.646s  +1.999s  13
25. Santiago Urrutia     Koiranen    1m30.977s  +2.330s  14
26. Victor Carbone       Trident     1m31.219s  +2.572s  17
27. Carmen Jorda         Koiranen    1m32.951s  +4.304s  16
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Breaking news feed
Live commentary feed
Eriksson title bid hit by penalty
Mardenborough claims first GP3 win
Kirchhofer dominates home GP3 race
Stanaway leads practice for Status