Find out more about our subscriptions

Iowa IndyCar: Juan Pablo Montoya leads Penske one-two in practice

Juan Pablo Montoya, Penske, Iowa IndyCar 2014

Juan Pablo Montoya edged out Penske team-mate Will Power to claim the top spot in a rain-delayed second IndyCar practice session at Iowa Speedway.

Intermittent showers prompted delays throughout Friday afternoon, and also led to a handful of brief cautions during the session.

But last weekend's Pocono race winner Montoya made the most of a late spell of greens to trade places with Power at the top of the timing monitors before securing P1 with a 184.619mph average on his last lap.

Why Montoya is better than ever

Power's best lap was just a fraction slower at 184.584mph, while James Hinchcliffe and Takuma Sato both improved with their last flying laps to finish up third and fourth-fastest respectively.

Scott Dixon was Ganassi's highest-placed representative in fifth, but the team had been in charge during the early running.

Charlie Kimball enjoyed a brief spell at the top in the opening minutes before making way for Tony Kanaan, whose time remained the benchmark for nearly 45 minutes before Montoya stepped up.

Qualifying has been rescheduled for early Friday evening local time, with Power having drawn the opening slot in the running order.

Pos  Driver              Team/Engine      Speed    Time      Gap
 1.  Juan Pablo Montoya  Penske/Chevy     184.619  17.4327s
 2.  Will Power          Penske/Chevy     184.584  17.4360s  +0.0033s
 3.  James Hinchcliffe   Andretti/Honda   184.421  17.4514s  +0.0187s
 4.  Takuma Sato         Foyt/Honda       183.860  17.5046s  +0.0719s
 5.  Scott Dixon         Ganassi/Chevy    183.616  17.5279s  +0.0952s
 6.  Graham Rahal        Rahal/Honda      183.503  17.5387s  +0.1060s
 7.  Carlos Munoz        Andretti/Honda   183.396  17.5489s  +0.1162s
 8.  Tony Kanaan         Ganassi/Chevy    183.152  17.5723s  +0.1396s
 9.  Mikhail Aleshin     Schmidt/Honda    182.598  17.6256s  +0.1929s
10.  Marco Andretti      Andretti/Honda   182.071  17.6766s  +0.2439s
11.  Ryan Hunter-Reay    Andretti/Honda   181.839  17.6992s  +0.2665s
12.  Josef Newgarden     Fisher/Honda     181.646  17.7180s  +0.2853s
13.  Ed Carpenter        Carpenter/Chevy  181.346  17.7473s  +0.3146s
14.  Ryan Briscoe        Ganassi/Chevy    181.047  17.7766s  +0.3439s
15.  Charlie Kimball     Ganassi/Chevy    180.526  17.8279s  +0.3952s
16.  Justin Wilson       Coyne/Honda      180.083  17.8718s  +0.4391s
17.  Helio Castroneves   Penske/Chevy     179.245  17.9553s  +0.5226s
18.  Sebastien Bourdais  KV/Chevy         177.813  18.0999s  +0.6672s
19.  Carlos Huertas      Coyne/Honda      177.427  18.1393s  +0.7066s
20.  Jack Hawksworth     Herta/Honda      176.783  18.2054s  +0.7727s
21.  Sebastian Saavedra  KV/Chevy         176.696  18.2143s  +0.7816s
22.  Simon Pagenaud      Schmidt/Honda    175.681  18.3196s  +0.8869s

All drivers use Dallara chassis
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Hunter-Reay surges to Iowa victory
Dixon leads all-Ganassi front row
Iowa IndyCar practice halted by rain