Find out more about our subscriptions

Monza Auto GP: Markus Pommer claims second consecutive pole

Markus Pommer secured an impressive second consecutive pole position for the seventh round of the 2014 Auto GP season after a tense qualifying battle with series debutant Christof von Grunigen.

With light raining falling on the track throughout the 10-minute session, Pommer and von Grunigen swapped fastest times in what became their own private battle for pole.

The German won out by just under three tenths of a second with time of 1m36.676s.

Starting on the second row is Eurotech driver Kevin Giovesi who just shaded Super Nova's Michela Cerruti, equalling her performance at the last round in Hungary to start fourth again after an assured performance.

Tamas Pal Kiss starts in fifth position and is still playing catch up after a broken damper hampered his second free practice session earlier today.

The Zele driver shares the third row with Andrea Roda.

In the first segment of qualifying that determined the top 10, Francesco Dracone, Loris Spinelli and Samin Gomez all narrowly missed out on making the shoot-out.

Spinelli was the only driver to encounter significant drama when he had a high-speed trip through the gravel at Parabolica early in the session.

Follow the first AutoGP race from Monza on AUTOSPORT Race Centre Live on Saturday May 31st at 14:30pm UK time

Pos Driver                Team             Time       Gap    
 1. Markus Pommer         Super Nova       1m36.676s         
 2. Christof von Grunigen Zele             1m36.893s  +0.217s
 3. Kevin Giovesi         Eurotech         1m37.163s  +0.487s
 4. Michela Cerruti       Super Nova       1m37.260s  +0.584s
 5. Tamas Pal Kiss        Zele             1m37.351s  +0.675s
 6. Andrea Roda           Virtuosi         1m37.585s  +0.909s
 7. Shinya Michimi        Euronova         1m37.640s  +0.964s
 8. Yoshitaka Kuroda      Zele             1m38.120s  +1.444s
 9. Michele La Rosa       MLR 71/Euronova  1m38.126s  +1.450s
10. Giuseppe Cipriani     Virtuosi         1m39.005s  +2.329s
11. Francesco Dracone     Super Nova       Q1                
12. Loris Spinelli        Eurotech         Q1                
13. Samin Gomez           Zele             Q1                
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Giovesi takes race two win at Monza
Pommer secures Monza win
Kiss quickest in practice at Monza