Find out more about our subscriptions

Barbagallo V8 Supercars: Chaz Mostert takes first win for FPR

Chaz Mostert wins Barbagallo V8 Supercars 2014

Chaz Mostert claimed his first V8 Supercars victory with Ford Performance Racing in the longer-distance finale at Barbagallo.

The 22-year-old had taken a win at Queensland Raceway last July during his impressive rookie year with Dick Johnson Racing, but the Perth success marked his first victory since being promoted to Ford's leading squad.

Mostert managed to get ahead of Craig Lowndes for the effective race lead when they were trying to pass Jason Bright - running an alternate strategy - around half-distance.

The Ford man then resisted pressure from Lowndes's Triple Eight Holden for the rest of the race, keeping the series' victory record-holder at bay even through very heavy traffic in the closing stages.

Mostert's team-mate Mark Winterbottom maintained his championship lead with third place, his strategy of running longer stints not paying off as effectively.

Champion Jamie Whincup continued his return to form in fourth place, ahead of Brad Jones Racing duo Fabian Coulthard and Bright.

James Courtney had also been among the lead group early on before suffering a puncture, only a few laps after his Holden Racing Team stablemate Garth Tander had the same issue. Both Erebus Mercedes also had tyres blow.

Race one winner Scott McLaughlin and his GRM Volvo team-mate Robert Dahlgren both struggled for race pace after qualifying in the top 10, sliding back to 17th and 21st respectively.

McLaughlin's day was further complicated by the need to tape a flapping door closed in a pitstop and by a punt from Tim Slade.

Results - 83 laps:

Pos  Driver               Team/Car                    Time/Gap
 1.  Chaz Mostert         FPR Ford               1h21m35.0015s
 2.  Craig Lowndes        Triple Eight Holden         +2.1744s
 3.  Mark Winterbottom    FPR Ford                    +4.2798s
 4.  Jamie Whincup        Triple Eight Holden        +11.0268s
 5.  Fabian Coulthard     Brad Jones Holden          +15.6605s
 6.  Jason Bright         Brad Jones Holden          +16.5746s
 7.  David Wall           Dick Johnson Ford          +30.8296s
 8.  James Moffat         Nissan                     +31.9434s
 9.  David Reynolds       Rod Nash/FPR Ford          +37.9334s
10.  Michael Caruso       Nissan                     +38.0895s
11.  Nick Percat          Walkinshaw/HRT Holden      +40.5733s
12.  Scott Pye            Dick Johnson Ford          +43.0613s
13.  Russell Ingall       Dumbrell Holden            +44.4513s
14.  Rick Kelly           Nissan                     +46.7488s
15.  James Courtney       HRT Holden                 +47.7007s
16.  Todd Kelly           Nissan                     +48.7103s
17.  Scott McLaughlin     GRM Volvo                  +50.4778s
18.  Lee Holdsworth       Erebus Mercedes            +52.5391s
19.  Dale Wood            Britek/BJR Holden             -1 lap
20.  Shane van Gisbergen  Tekno Holden                  -1 lap
21.  Robert Dahlgren      GRM Volvo                     -1 lap
22.  Garth Tander         HRT Holden                    -1 lap
23.  Jack Perkins         Schwerkolt/FPR Ford           -1 lap
24.  Will Davison         Erebus Mercedes              -2 laps
25.  Tim Slade            Rosenberg/HRT Holden         -8 laps
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Lowndes takes 97th victory in V8s
McLaughlin gives S60 first points win