Click to view our fantastic subscription offers

Instant access to the F1 paddock

You have 5 views remaining

You have read 10 stories this month. After 15, you will need to register or subscribe.

Register with us for free to view 25 stories a month.

Or subscribe to AUTOSPORT+ for unlimited news stories and access to our exclusive subscriber-only content.

Our commitment to quality journalism

We've introduced metered access to AUTOSPORT which will ensure that the majority of our visitors can continue to view the site for free. But we think that is worth a small investment from those who use it most, so that we can continue to send the leading experts in their field to motor racing paddocks all over the world to break the latest news and produce the most compelling interviews and race reports.

Every visitor gets 15 free page views per month. Once you reach the limit you can register to get 25 views or choose one of our value-for-money subscription packages to continue viewing and to get additional access to a range of features including:

  • Unlimited access to AUTOSPORT with news and views from the paddock
  • Enjoy AUTOSPORT+: subscriber-only analysis, comment and top-quality pictures
  • Get AUTOSPORT magazine in a digital format on your computer or iPad every week
  • Full access to FORIX - the world's best motorsport statistics website

We greatly appreciate your continued support to keep AUTOSPORT at the forefront of motorsport coverage, and we look forward to welcoming you as a new subscriber.

Glenn Freeman Editor
Find out more about our subscriptions

Pukekohe V8 Supercars: Mark Winterbottom wins race four

Mark Winterbottom further extended his points tally by claiming the final V8 Supercars race of the Pukekohe weekend.

The championship leader started fourth for the 200-kilometre main event and gained two positions by the time he made his first stop on lap 18 of 69.

He then set about eating into Scott McLaughlin's 1.9-second advantage and managed to cut the deficit to just under two tenths as the leaders pitted together on lap 43.

The FPR Ford crew won the pitstop battle and Winterbottom rejoined the action at the front of the field, before edging away to clinch the Jason Richards Memorial Trophy for the best cumulative performance of the weekend.

Obituary: Remembering Jason Richards

McLaughlin took a comfortable second place in the Volvo S60 while Chaz Mostert rounded off the podium after duelling hard with Shane van Gisbergen in the opening laps.

The race three winner had Michael Caruso's Nissan in his mirrors for most of the afternoon and the pair finished fourth and fifth, ahead of Jason Bright who gained 11 places from 17th on the grid.

Craig Lowndes and Tim Slade had a torrid race in comparison.

The Triple Eight driver found himself starting in the middle of the pack after putting his Holden in the gravel trap at the hairpin in the final moments of qualifying.

His race strategy then put him in trouble as he had to yield to those a lap ahead before the second stops unfolded.

He finished a dismal 20th, ahead of the front row starting Slade, who was unable to recover from a clutch issue that emerged on the formation lap.

Results - 69 laps:                                            
Pos  Driver               Team/Car                    Time/Gap 
 1.  Mark Winterbottom    FPR Ford               1h16m14.0720s
 2.  Scott McLaughlin     GRM Volvo                   +6.9807s
 3.  Chaz Mostert         FPR Ford                   +16.8806s
 4.  Shane van Gisbergen  Tekno Holden               +23.5120s
 5.  Michael Caruso       Nissan                     +25.2493s
 6.  Jason Bright         Brad Jones Holden          +27.9520s
 7.  Will Davison         Erebus Mercedes            +28.8045s
 8.  Rick Kelly           Nissan                     +29.7776s
 9.  Fabian Coulthard     Brad Jones Holden          +30.8100s
10.  Jamie Whincup        Triple Eight Holden        +33.7444s
11.  Nick Percat          Walkinshaw/HRT Holden      +34.0840s
12.  Garth Tander         HRT Holden                 +36.1384s
13.  Scott Pye            Dick Johnson Ford          +37.4334s
14.  James Courtney       HRT Holden                 +38.3255s
15.  Lee Holdsworth       Erebus Mercedes            +39.0830s
16.  James Moffat         Nissan                     +39.3890s
17.  David Reynolds       Rod Nash/FPR Ford          +40.3123s
18.  Jack Perkins         Schwerkolt/FPR Ford        +41.7220s
19.  Russell Ingall       Dumbrell Holden            +47.6500s
20.  Craig Lowndes        Triple Eight Holden        +50.0965s
21.  Tim Slade            Rosenberg/HRT Holden       +50.4730s
22.  Dale Wood            Britek/BJR Holden             +1 lap
23.  Robert Dahlgren      GRM Volvo                     +1 lap
24.  Todd Kelly           Nissan                        +1 lap
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Breaking news feed
Live commentary feed