Find out more about our subscriptions

Texas NASCAR: Joey Logano wins despite late yellow

Joey Logano wins Texas NASCAR 2014

Joey Logano shrugged off a late yellow and pit scramble to claim victory in the rain-delayed Texas Motor Speedway NASCAR Sprint Cup race.

The Penske Ford driver had dominated the final third of an event postponed by a day due to rain on Sunday, but an incident for Kurt Busch with just two laps to go robbed Logano and team-mate Brad Keselowski of a commanding advantage.

The whole lead pack dived into the pits for fresh tyres ready for the green-white-chequered finish, and Jeff Gordon and Brian Vickers gambled on only two fresh tyres and vaulted to the front.

Logano would not be denied, though, immediately overtaking Vickers at the restart and then sweeping past Gordon to secure victory on the final lap.

But there would be no one-two for Penske, as Keselowski picked up a pitlane speeding penalty and fell to 15th.

Gordon retained second ahead of Kyle Busch and Vickers, with rookie Kyle Larson impressing again in fifth place.

The race had got off to a faltering start, beginning under yellow while jet-dryers worked on lingering damp patches.

The high-pressure stream from the dryers caused several cars to pit for attention to bonnets and roof flaps blown open, including Keselowski - who had to come in four times before Penske managed to tape down his bonnet sufficiently. All affected were allowed to reclaim their original starting spots.

Dale Earnhardt Jr then crashed heavily when he clipped the grass just after racing began. His Hendrick Chevrolet was left ablaze following the accident, with team-mate Jimmie Johnson's example damaged by debris, but Earnhardt escaped unhurt.

Poleman Tony Stewart led the first 74 laps before fading to an eventual 10th place. His Stewart-Haas team-mate Kevin Harvick was an early retirement with engine problems after starting third.

Denny Hamlin had a spell up front too, only for a pitlane speeding penalty to send him back into the pack. He ended up 13th at the flag.

Results - 340 laps:

Pos  Driver              Team/Car                     Time/Gap
 1.  Joey Logano         Penske Ford              3h48m02.000s
 2.  Jeff Gordon         Hendrick Chevrolet            +0.476s
 3.  Kyle Busch          Joe Gibbs Toyota              +1.006s
 4.  Brian Vickers       Waltrip Toyota                +1.160s
 5.  Kyle Larson         Ganassi Chevrolet             +1.191s
 6.  Greg Biffle         Roush Fenway Ford             +1.281s
 7.  Matt Kenseth        Joe Gibbs Toyota              +1.412s
 8.  Clint Bowyer        Waltrip Toyota                +1.665s
 9.  Paul Menard         Childress Chevrolet           +1.932s
10.  Tony Stewart        Stewart-Haas Chevrolet        +1.971s
11.  Kasey Kahne         Hendrick Chevrolet            +2.209s
12.  Aric Almirola       Petty Ford                    +2.256s
13.  Denny Hamlin        Joe Gibbs Toyota              +2.471s
14.  Carl Edwards        Roush Fenway Ford             +3.097s
15.  Brad Keselowski     Penske Ford                   +7.556s
16.  Ryan Newman         Childress Chevrolet           +7.970s
17.  Jamie McMurray      Ganassi Chevrolet             +8.101s
18.  Martin Truex Jr     Furniture Row Chevrolet       +8.395s
19.  Trevor Bayne        Wood Brothers Ford             +1 lap
20.  Marcos Ambrose      Petty Ford                     +1 lap
21.  Austin Dillon       Childress Chevrolet            +1 lap
22.  David Gilliland     Front Row Ford                 +1 lap
23.  AJ Allmendinger     JTG Daugherty Toyota           +1 lap
24.  Justin Allgaier     HScott Chevrolet               +1 lap
25.  Jimmie Johnson      Hendrick Chevrolet            +2 laps
26.  Ricky Stenhouse Jr  Roush Fenway Ford             +2 laps
27.  Danica Patrick      Stewart-Haas Chevrolet        +2 laps
28.  Casey Mears         Germain Ford                  +2 laps
29.  Michael Annett      Baldwin Chevrolet             +3 laps
30.  Michael McDowell    Leavine Ford                  +5 laps
31.  Cole Whitt          Swan Toyota                   +5 laps
32.  Alex Bowman         BK Toyota                     +5 laps
33.  Reed Sorenson       Baldwin Chevrolet             +6 laps
34.  Landon Cassill      Hillman Chevrolet             +6 laps
35.  David Ragan         Front Row Ford                +6 laps
36.  Josh Wise           Parsons Chevrolet             +7 laps
37.  Travis Kvapil       FAS Lane Ford                 +8 laps
38.  David Reutimann     Front Row Ford                +8 laps


     Kurt Busch          Stewart-Haas Chevrolet       327 laps
     Parker Kligerman    Swan Toyota                  313 laps
     Dave Blaney         Humphrey Ford                272 laps
     Kevin Harvick       Stewart-Haas Chevrolet        28 laps
     Dale Earnhardt Jr   Hendrick Chevrolet            12 laps
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Breaking news feed
Live commentary feed
Texas Cup race postponed by rain