Find out more about our subscriptions

Winton V8 Supercars: Lee Holdsworth ends victory drought

lee holdsworth

Lee Holdsworth took his first V8 Supercars victory since the end of the 2010 season - and the first for the Erebus Mercedes project - in the second Winton race.

The Erebus Mercedes driver slotted into third at the start when he beat Shane van Gisbergen off the line and gained a further position on lap 10 when Scott McLaughlin suffered a mechanical issue while leading the race.

Race one winner Fabian Coulthard was promoted to the head of the field as a result and it was a position he held until six laps from the end.

The Brad Jones Holden driver began to experience rear tyre issues around mid-distance and was eventually passed by Holdsworth at Turn 1, who then went on to give Erebus an untroubled maiden series win.

Coulthard soon came under attack from Mark Winterbottom who was able to snatch second place with only two laps remaining.

David Reynolds fended off an in-form David Wall to claim fourth, while James Moffat finished ahead of Jason Bright who filtered his way through the field from 13th to finish seventh.

Triple Eight team-mates Jamie Whincup and Craig Lowndes were buried at the back of the grid following a disastrous qualifying session.

The pair started 21st and 23rd and failed to make an impression in the race, with Lowndes coming home 16th and Whincup 19th, just ahead of van Gisbergen who struggled for grip and dropped down the order.

Results - 34 laps:                                              
Pos  Driver               Team/Car                   Time/Gap
 1.  Lee Holdsworth       Erebus Mercedes         48m29.0349s   
 2.  Mark Winterbottom    FPR Ford                   +1.4505s   
 3.  Fabian Coulthard     Brad Jones Holden          +3.3947s   
 4.  David Reynolds       Rod Nash/FPR Ford          +4.1908s   
 5.  David Wall           Dick Johnson Ford          +8.1626s   
 6.  James Moffat         Nissan                    +15.1534s   
 7.  Jason Bright         Brad Jones Holden         +17.3463s   
 8.  Will Davison         Erebus Mercedes           +21.1077s   
 9.  James Courtney       HRT Holden                +21.6039s   
10.  Chaz Mostert         FPR Ford                  +34.4978s   
11.  Tim Slade            Rosenberg/HRT Holden      +34.7159s   
12.  Scott Pye            Dick Johnson Ford         +37.6298s   
13.  Dale Wood            Britek/BJR Holden         +38.1519s   
14.  Jack Perkins         Schwerkolt/FPR Ford       +38.3565s   
15.  Nick Percat          Walkinshaw/HRT Holden     +41.3440s   
16.  Craig Lowndes        Triple Eight Holden       +42.1616s   
17.  Michael Caruso       Nissan                    +46.7349s   
18.  Rick Kelly           Nissan                    +49.8927s   
19.  Jamie Whincup        Triple Eight Holden       +56.8324s   
20.  Shane van Gisbergen  Tekno Holden            +1m01.1168s   
21.  Garth Tander         HRT Holden              +1m02.1904s   
22.  Russell Ingall       Dumbrell Holden         +1m03.6183s   
23.  Todd Kelly           Nissan                  +1m05.5589s   
24.  Robert Dahlgren      GRM Volvo               +1m21.3276s   
25.  Scott McLaughlin     GRM Volvo                   +3 laps   
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Winterbottom wins Winton race three
Coulthard dominates Winton race one