Click to view our fantastic subscription offers

Instant access to the F1 paddock

You have 5 views remaining

You have read 10 stories this month. After 15, you will need to register or subscribe.

Register with us for free to view 30 stories a month.

Or subscribe to AUTOSPORT+ for unlimited news stories and access to our exclusive subscriber-only content.

Our commitment to quality journalism

We've introduced metered access to AUTOSPORT which will ensure that the majority of our visitors can continue to view the site for free. But we think that is worth a small investment from those who use it most, so that we can continue to send the leading experts in their field to motor racing paddocks all over the world to break the latest news and produce the most compelling interviews and race reports.

Every visitor gets 15 free page views per month. Once you reach the limit you can register to get 30 views or choose one of our value-for-money subscription packages to continue viewing and to get additional access to a range of features including:

  • Unlimited access to AUTOSPORT with news and views from the paddock
  • Enjoy AUTOSPORT+: subscriber-only analysis, comment and top-quality pictures
  • Get AUTOSPORT magazine in a digital format on your computer or iPad every week
  • Full access to FORIX - the world's best motorsport statistics website

We greatly appreciate your continued support to keep AUTOSPORT at the forefront of motorsport coverage, and we look forward to welcoming you as a new subscriber.

Glenn Freeman Editor
Find out more about our subscriptions

Malaysian GP: Final starting grid

Valtteri Bottas is the only driver to receive a grid penalty after qualifying for the Malaysian Grand Prix.

The Williams driver has now been penalised at each of the first two events of the 2014 Formula 1 season.

In Australia, he was demoted from 10th to 15th on the grid for a gearbox change, while this weekend he falls from 15th to 18th having been found guilty of impeding Daniel Ricciardo's Red Bull.

The rest of the grid lines up in qualifying order.

Lewis Hamilton beat Sebastian Vettel to pole, with Nico Rosberg pipping Fernando Alonso to third place.

Pos  Driver             Team/Car
 1.  Lewis Hamilton     Mercedes
 2.  Sebastian Vettel   Red Bull-Renault
 3.  Nico Rosberg       Mercedes
 4.  Fernando Alonso    Ferrari
 5.  Daniel Ricciardo   Red Bull-Renault
 6.  Kimi Raikkonen     Ferrari
 7.  Nico Hulkenberg    Force India-Mercedes
 8.  Kevin Magnussen    McLaren-Mercedes
 9.  Jean-Eric Vergne   Toro Rosso-Renault
10.  Jenson Button      McLaren-Mercedes
11.  Daniil Kvyat       Toro Rosso-Renault
12.  Esteban Gutierrez  Sauber-Ferrari
13.  Felipe Massa       Williams-Mercedes
14.  Sergio Perez       Force India-Mercedes
15.  Romain Grosjean    Lotus-Renault
16.  Pastor Maldonado   Lotus-Renault
17.  Adrian Sutil       Sauber-Ferrari
18.  Valtteri Bottas    Williams-Mercedes
19.  Jules Bianchi      Marussia-Ferrari
20.  Kamui Kobayashi    Caterham-Renault
21.  Max Chilton        Marussia-Ferrari
22.  Marcus Ericsson    Caterham-Renault
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Paddock insight from group F1 editor Jonathan Noble
Grand Prix news updates from F1 editor Edd Straw
Breaking news feed
Live commentary feed