Click to view our fantastic subscription offers

Instant access to the F1 paddock

You have 10 views remaining

You have read 5 stories this month. After 15, you will need to register or subscribe.

Register with us for free to view 30 stories a month.

Or subscribe to AUTOSPORT+ for unlimited news stories and access to our exclusive subscriber-only content.

Our commitment to quality journalism

We've introduced metered access to AUTOSPORT which will ensure that the majority of our visitors can continue to view the site for free. But we think that is worth a small investment from those who use it most, so that we can continue to send the leading experts in their field to motor racing paddocks all over the world to break the latest news and produce the most compelling interviews and race reports.

Every visitor gets 15 free page views per month. Once you reach the limit you can register to get 30 views or choose one of our value-for-money subscription packages to continue viewing and to get additional access to a range of features including:

  • Unlimited access to AUTOSPORT with news and views from the paddock
  • Enjoy AUTOSPORT+: subscriber-only analysis, comment and top-quality pictures
  • Get AUTOSPORT magazine in a digital format on your computer or iPad every week
  • Full access to FORIX - the world's best motorsport statistics website

We greatly appreciate your continued support to keep AUTOSPORT at the forefront of motorsport coverage, and we look forward to welcoming you as a new subscriber.

Glenn Freeman Editor
Find out more about our subscriptions

Dakar: Nasser Al-Attiyah wins stage 10 as Carlos Sainz crashes out

Nasser Al-Attiyah S10 Dakar 2014Nasser Al-Attiyah dominated the 10th stage of the 2014 Dakar, while Carlos Sainz's event ended with a heavy crash.

Al-Attiyah finished the 631-kilometre stage almost four minutes ahead of Dakar legend Stephane Peterhansel, who has reduced Nani Roma's overall lead to just over two minutes.

Peterhansel led the during the early running, but Al-Attiyah was in charging form as the stage progressed, pushing on to claim victory by 3m50s.

Roma took third on the stage, but must now be looking over his shoulder at the closing Peterhansel, who is now just 2m15s behind.

Fourth on the stage, and the top non-Mini, was the Toyota of Giniel de Villiers, but the big news of the day was Sainz's retirement.

The double world rally champion suffered light injuries in the accident, which rendered his SMG buggy a write-off.

The accident happened in a neutralised section around two-thirds of the way through the stage. The Spaniard had been running in the top three until that point.

Krzysztof Holowczyc set the stage's fifth best time in his Mini, but remains a long way behind the top South American runner, Argentinian Orlando Terranova, in the battle for fifth in the overall classification.

Leading stage 10 results:

Pos  Driver                Team/Car         Time/Gap
 1.  Nasser Al-Attiyah     X-raid Mini      4h23m35s
 2.  Stephane Peterhansel  X-raid Mini        +3m50s
 3.  Nani Roma             X-raid Mini       +13m45s
 4.  Giniel de Villiers    Imperial Toyta    +28m15s
 5.  Krzysztof Holowczyc   X-raid Mini       +31m13s
 6.  Vladimir Vasilyev     X-raid Mini       +33m22s
 7.  Orlando Terranova     X-raid Mini       +33m48s
 8.  Lucio Alvarez         Ford              +43m01s
 9.  Federico Villagra     X-raid Mini       +45m06s
10.  Christian Lavieille   Haval             +49m34s

Leading overall positions after stage 10:

Pos  Driver                Team/Car         Time/Gap
 1.  Nani Roma             X-raid Mini     38h52m57s
 2.  Stephane Peterhansel  X-raid Mini        +2m15s
 3.  Nasser Al-Attiyah     X-raid Mini       +46m01s
 4.  Giniel de Villiers    Imperial Toyta  +1h14m16s
 5.  Orlando Terranova     X-raid Mini     +1h14m36s
 6.  Krzysztof Holowczyc   X-raid Mini     +3h17m31s
 7.  Marek Dabrowski       Orlen Toyota    +4h03m57s
 8.  Christian Lavieille   Haval           +4h32m45s
 9.  Adam Malysz           Orlen Toyota    +4h51m03s
10.  Martin Kaczmarski     X-raid Mini     +5h33m54s
Daytona Competition
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Peterhansel frustrated by Dakar finish
Roma secures Dakar victory
Peterhansel reclaims Dakar lead
Terranova wins, Roma extends lead
Peterhansel closes in on Roma
Al-Attiyah wins, Roma's lead slashed
Sainz wins, Roma keeps Dakar lead
Peterhansel begins Dakar recovery
Rider found dead on Dakar
Sainz, Al-Attiyah hit by penalties
Roma regains Dakar rally lead
Sainz moves into Dakar lead with win
Roma takes lead amid Dakar drama
Peterhansel hits front on Dakar
Sousa takes early Dakar lead