Find out more about our subscriptions

Dakar: Carlos Sainz wins seventh stage, Nani Roma keeps rally lead

Carlos Sainz cruised to a comfortable win on Sunday's seventh stage of the 2014 Dakar Rally.

The former World Rally champion completed the long-distance 533-kilometre test - a loop of the Argentine town of Salta - 4m45s ahead of the rest of the field in his SMG Buggy.

Despite his best efforts, Sainz is still way off in sixth overall after incurring a 60-minute penalty on Thursday and remains the best part of two hours behind current leader Nani Roma.

Nasser Al-Attiyah, who also received a one-hour punishment during the week, emerged as the best of the rest, while fellow X-raid Mini team-mates Stephane Peterhansel and Roma finished the day in third and fourth respectively.

While Roma managed to maintain his position at the top of the overall classification today, there was a change for second and third, with Peterhansel and Giniel de Villiers moving up the order after Orlando Terranova received a penalty.

The Argentinian driver had 15 minutes applied to his time following an incident with a motorcyclist during the previous stage and, as a result, has been relegated to fourth, ahead of Al-Attiyah and Sainz.

The rally continues on Monday with the competitors crossing the Andes Cordillera to begin the Chilean leg of the event.

Leading stage seven times:

Pos  Driver                Team/Car          Time/Gap
 1.  Carlos Sainz          SMG Buggy         4h43m28s
 2.  Nasser Al-Attiyah     X-raid Mini         +4m45s
 3.  Stephane Peterhansel  X-raid Mini         +7m26s
 4.  Nani Roma             X-raid Mini         +8m56s
 5.  Krzysztof Holowczyc   X-raid Mini        +10m51s
 6.  Federico Villagra     X-raid Mini        +12m54s
 7.  Vladimir Vasilyev     X-raid Mini        +15m58s
 8.  Giniel de Villiers    Imperial Toyota    +16m25s
 9.  Orlando Terranova     X-raid Mini        +18m00s
10.  Bernhard Ten Brinke   Ford HRX           +20m04s

Leading overall positions after stage seven:

Pos  Driver                Team/Car          Time/Gap
 1.  Nani Roma             X-raid Mini      27h03m52s
 2.  Stephane Peterhansel  X-raid Mini        +31m53s
 3.  Giniel de Villiers    Imperial Toyota    +48m23s
 4.  Orlando Terranova     X-raid Mini        +54m34s
 5.  Nasser Al-Attiyah     X-raid Mini      +1h18m24s
 6.  Carlos Sainz          SMG Buggy        +1h50m42s
 7.  Marek Dabrowski       Orlen Toyota     +2h30m47s
 8.  Krzysztof Holowczyc   X-raid Mini      +2h30m52s
 9.  Federico Villagra     X-raid Mini      +2h52m57s
10.  Christian Lavieille   H8 Haval         +3h07m06s
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Peterhansel frustrated by Dakar finish
Roma secures Dakar victory
Peterhansel reclaims Dakar lead
Terranova wins, Roma extends lead
Al-Attiyah wins, Sainz crashes out
Peterhansel closes in on Roma
Al-Attiyah wins, Roma's lead slashed
Peterhansel begins Dakar recovery
Rider found dead on Dakar
Sainz, Al-Attiyah hit by penalties
Roma regains Dakar rally lead
Sainz moves into Dakar lead with win
Roma takes lead amid Dakar drama
Peterhansel hits front on Dakar
Sousa takes early Dakar lead