Find out more about our subscriptions

Oliver Rowland quickest on day two of GP3 Yas Marina test

Oliver Rowland

Oliver Rowland, the 2011 McLaren AUTOSPORT BRDC Award winner set the pace on the second day of GP3's post-season test at Yas Marina.

The 21-year-old Briton, who finished runner-up in this year's Formula Renault Eurocup, topped both the morning and afternoon sessions for the Manor squad.

As was the case on day one, it was the latter session that proved the faster, with Rowland improving by almost half a second to go fastest with a 1m55.600s.

That left him just over 37 hundredths of a second clear of ART's Patric Niederhauser, who combined a full season in GP3 - scoring two podiums - with LMP2 commitments both at the Le Mans 24 Hours and in the ELMS.

Day one pacesetter Dean Stoneman, who took a podium finish on his series debut at Yas Marina last weekend, was third fastest for Koiranen GP.

MW Arden pair Robert Visoiu - who won twice in GP3 this year - and Marvin Kirchhofer - the German F3 champion - were next up, both getting to within a quarter of a second of Rowland's benchmark.

Roman de Beer, testing for Trident, meanwhile shaded Lotus F1 Junior Team member Alex Fontana in the fight for sixth, with just 0.030s to choose between the pair in the afternoon.

Jimmy Eriksson was eighth fastest as Russian Time took part in its second full day of testing ahead of an inaugural GP3 campaign next year, while Carlin's Jann Mardenborough and MW Arden's Ed Jones rounded out the top 10.

Kirchhofer caused one of three red flags when he stopped out on track with an hour of the day remaining.

Russian Time's Ivan Taranov brought about the first stoppage when he made light contact with the Turn 8 barriers early on, while Kuba Dalewski's spin caused the other interruption.

Morning times

Pos Driver                    Team              Time       Gap      Laps
 1. Oliver Rowland            Manor             1m56.020s           23
 2. Patric Niederhauser       ART               1m56.270s  +0.250s  24
 3. Robert Visoiu             MW Arden          1m56.285s  +0.265s  22
 4. Dean Stoneman             Koiranen          1m56.299s  +0.279s  20
 5. Emil Bernstorff           Carlin            1m56.312s  +0.292s  23
 6. Roman de Beer             Trident           1m56.365s  +0.345s  24
 7. Marvin Kirchhofer         MW Arden          1m56.383s  +0.363s  16
 8. Alex Fontana              ART               1m56.610s  +0.590s  22
 9. Ed Jones                  MW Arden          1m56.670s  +0.650s  17
10. Jimmy Eriksson            Russian Time      1m56.727s  +0.707s  23
11. Emanuele Zonzini          ART               1m56.858s  +0.838s  25
12. David Fumanelli           Jenzer            1m56.928s  +0.908s  22
13. Jann Mardenborough        Carlin            1m57.015s  +0.995s  24
14. Nick Cassidy              Status            1m57.372s  +1.352s  19
15. Santiago Urrutia          Koiranen          1m57.451s  +1.431s  23
16. Kevin Joerg               Jenzer            1m57.497s  +1.477s  22
17. Luis Sa Silva             Carlin            1m57.503s  +1.483s  23
18. Jack Hawksworth           Status            1m57.760s  +1.740s  29
19. Robert Cregan             Trident           1m57.908s  +1.888s  32
20. Markus Pommer             Russian Time      1m57.948s  +1.928s  29
21. Kuba Dalewski             Trident           1m57.965s  +1.945s  23
22. Dino Zamparelli           Manor             1m58.023s  +2.003s  12
23. Ryan Cullen               Manor             1m58.220s  +2.200s  15
24. Ivan Taranov              Russian Time      1m58.377s  +2.357s  21
25. Nicholas Latifi           Status            1m58.399s  +2.379s  24
26. Carmen Jorda              Koiranen          1m58.742s  +2.722s  19

Afternoon times

Pos Driver                    Team              Time       Gap      Laps
 1. Oliver Rowland            Manor             1m55.600s           31
 2. Patric Niederhauser       ART               1m55.637s  +0.037s  27
 3. Dean Stoneman             Koiranen          1m55.711s  +0.111s  27
 4. Robert Visoiu             MW Arden          1m55.770s  +0.170s  28
 5. Marvin Kirchhofer         MW Arden          1m55.816s  +0.216s  22
 6. Roman de Beer             Trident           1m55.866s  +0.266s  19
 7. Alex Fontana              ART               1m55.896s  +0.296s  25
 8. Jimmy Eriksson            Russian Time      1m56.114s  +0.514s  36
 9. Jann Mardenborough        Carlin            1m56.145s  +0.545s  30
10. Ed Jones                  MW Arden          1m56.227s  +0.627s  26
11. Emil Bernstorff           Carlin            1m56.231s  +0.631s  31
12. David Fumanelli           Jenzer            1m56.285s  +0.685s  17
13. Kevin Joerg               Jenzer            1m56.430s  +0.830s  30
14. Robert Cregan             Trident           1m56.522s  +0.922s  23
15. Jack Hawksworth           Status            1m56.627s  +1.027s  20
16. Nick Cassidy              Status            1m56.686s  +1.086s  16
17. Markus Pommer             Russian Time      1m56.764s  +1.164s  27
18. Emanuele Zonzini          ART               1m56.766s  +1.166s  22
19. Dino Zamparelli           Manor             1m56.864s  +1.264s  32
20. Santiago Urrutia          Koiranen          1m56.881s  +1.281s  22
21. Nicholas Latifi           Status            1m57.079s  +1.479s  26
22. Luis Sa Silva             Carlin            1m57.216s  +1.616s  27
23. Gustavo Menezes           Jenzer            1m57.444s  +1.844s  32
24. Kuba Dalewski             Trident           1m57.596s  +1.996s  22
25. Ryan Cullen               Manor             1m57.789s  +2.189s  26
26. Ivan Taranov              Russian Time      1m58.004s  +2.404s  30
27. Carmen Jorda              Koiranen          2m00.080s  +4.480s  12
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Niederhauser ends GP3 test on top
Stoneman tops Yas Marina test