Click to view our fantastic subscription offers

Instant access to the F1 paddock

You have 10 views remaining

You have read 10 stories this month. After 20, you will need to register or subscribe.

Register with us for free to view 30 stories a month.

Or subscribe to AUTOSPORT+ for unlimited news stories and access to our exclusive subscriber-only content.

Our commitment to quality journalism

We've introduced metered access to AUTOSPORT which will ensure that the majority of our visitors can continue to view the site for free. But we think that is worth a small investment from those who use it most, so that we can continue to send the leading experts in their field to motor racing paddocks all over the world to break the latest news and produce the most compelling interviews and race reports.

Every visitor gets 20 free page views per month. Once you reach the limit you can register to get 30 views or choose one of our value-for-money subscription packages to continue viewing and to get additional access to a range of features including:

  • Unlimited access to AUTOSPORT with news and views from the paddock
  • Enjoy AUTOSPORT+: subscriber-only analysis, comment and top-quality pictures
  • Get AUTOSPORT magazine in a digital format on your computer or iPad every week
  • Full access to FORIX - the world's best motorsport statistics website

We greatly appreciate your continued support to keep AUTOSPORT at the forefront of motorsport coverage, and we look forward to welcoming you as a new subscriber.

Andrew Van de Burgt
Editor in Chief
Find out more about our subscriptions

Sepang MotoGP: Dani Pedrosa escapes to claim victory

Dani Pedrosa, Honda, Sepang MotoGP 2013

Dani Pedrosa escaped from a ferocious lead fight to take his first MotoGP win since May at Sepang.

The early laps were some of the best of the season as the factory Yamahas and Hondas plus Gresini's Alvaro Bautista formed a five-bike pack jostling for the lead.

It was Lorenzo who led that group, having out-muscled fellow fast-starter Pedrosa through the opening corners.

Pedrosa's Honda repeatedly got a run on Lorenzo's Yamaha on the following laps, but the champion always managed to brake later into the corners.

Finally Pedrosa slipped past down the back straight, with the two bikes brushing at the final corner as he completed the move.

That gave Marquez a run at Lorenzo and began an astonishingly hard-fought battle between them, in which Lorenzo did his utmost to fend off Marquez with some bold repasses.

It took several laps and several near-misses before Marquez finally made it ahead for good.

Pedrosa was only a second in front at that point, but had speed in hand and was able to pull away and win by nearly three seconds.

Marquez left Lorenzo behind as he extended his championship lead with second, while Valentino Rossi completed the top four.

Bautista dropped away from the lead group and became embroiled in a spectacular dice with Cal Crutchlow, only beating the Tech 3 Yamaha on the final lap.

Bradley Smith and Andrea Dovizioso were next up, with CRT leader Aleix Espargaro keeping Pramac Ducati's Yonny Hernandez at arm's length for ninth.

Nicky Hayden retired from seventh with smoke pouring from his Ducati early on.

Results - 20 laps:

Pos  Rider             Team/Bike               Time/Gap
 1.  Dani Pedrosa      Honda                 40m45.191s
 2.  Marc Marquez      Honda                    +2.757s
 3.  Jorge Lorenzo     Yamaha                   +6.669s
 4.  Valentino Rossi   Yamaha                  +10.351s
 5.  Alvaro Bautista   Gresini Honda           +22.149s
 6.  Cal Crutchlow     Tech 3 Yamaha           +22.301s
 7.  Bradley Smith     Tech 3 Yamaha           +30.864s
 8.  Andrea Dovizioso  Ducati                  +45.111s
 9.  Aleix Espargaro   Aspar Aprilia           +59.264s
10.  Yonny Hernandez   Pramac Ducati         +1m01.417s
11.  Hiroshi Aoyama    Avintia FTR-Kawasaki  +1m03.665s
12.  Randy de Puniet   Aspar Aprilia         +1m14.256s
13.  Claudio Corti     Forward FTR-Kawasaki  +1m21.603s
14.  Hector Barbera    Avintia FTR-Kawasaki  +1m27.976s
15.  Colin Edwards     Forward FTR-Kawasaki  +1m29.442s
16.  Danilo Petrucci   Ioda-Suter-BMW        +1m29.551s
17.  Luca Scassa       Cardion Aprilia       +1m47.930s
18.  Bryan Staring     Gresini FTR-Honda     +1m52.927s


     Michael Laverty   PBM Aprilia              12 laps
     Lukas Pesek       Ioda-Suter-BMW           11 laps
     Nicky Hayden      Ducati                    8 laps
     Damian Cudlin     PBM-Aprilia               7 laps
     Andrea Iannone    Pramac Ducati             6 laps
     Stefan Bradl      LCR Honda                 0 laps

  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Full MotoGP coverage on
Read Toby Moody's latest 'Out of the box' column
Marquez denies Rossi Sepang pole
Pedrosa stays ahead in practice three
Pedrosa lays down commanding marker
Pedrosa fastest in first practice