Click to view our fantastic subscription offers

Instant access to the F1 paddock

You have 10 views remaining

You have read 5 stories this month. After 15, you will need to register or subscribe.

Register with us for free to view 30 stories a month.

Or subscribe to AUTOSPORT+ for unlimited news stories and access to our exclusive subscriber-only content.

Our commitment to quality journalism

We've introduced metered access to AUTOSPORT which will ensure that the majority of our visitors can continue to view the site for free. But we think that is worth a small investment from those who use it most, so that we can continue to send the leading experts in their field to motor racing paddocks all over the world to break the latest news and produce the most compelling interviews and race reports.

Every visitor gets 15 free page views per month. Once you reach the limit you can register to get 30 views or choose one of our value-for-money subscription packages to continue viewing and to get additional access to a range of features including:

  • Unlimited access to AUTOSPORT with news and views from the paddock
  • Enjoy AUTOSPORT+: subscriber-only analysis, comment and top-quality pictures
  • Get AUTOSPORT magazine in a digital format on your computer or iPad every week
  • Full access to FORIX - the world's best motorsport statistics website

We greatly appreciate your continued support to keep AUTOSPORT at the forefront of motorsport coverage, and we look forward to welcoming you as a new subscriber.

Glenn Freeman Editor
Find out more about our subscriptions

Hvaal wins, Timerzyanov secures European Rallycross title

Timur Timerzyanov was crowned European Rallycross champion in the final round at Germany's Estering, but lost the victory to Alexander Hvaal.

The Norwegian driver took the win ahead of fellow Citroen DS3 runners Andreas Bakkerud and Liam Doran.

The race was stopped after four laps because Stig-Olov Walfridson's Renault Clio was stranded in the joker lap section and on fire.

Timerzyanov, who had already been crowned champion by qualifying for the final, was leading the race when it was stopped, but was the only driver still running to have not taken his joker.

The regulations state that if a race is stopped and declared a result before full distance, those who have not taken their joker lap incur a penalty and thus Timerzyanov dropped to fourth place in the results.

Petter Solberg had been fastest all weekend and started the race from pole position. Contact before the first corner forced him into the wall and out of the race, his return to rallycross ending without a win all season.

Heading into the event three drivers had a chance of winning the title. Frenchman Davy Jeanney missed his joker lap in the first heat and could only manage fourth in semi-final one, but did secure second in the championship.

Season-long title contender Timmy Hansen had a frustrating weekend that ended with a roll in semi-final one.

He finished his first season in rallycross third overall in the standings and top rookie.

Robin Larsson won his last TouringCar race before he makes the move up to Supercar in 2014 while champion Reinis Nitiss took his sixth Super1600 victory of the year.

Daytona Competition
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Solberg sets Germany ERX pace