Find out more about our subscriptions

Hungaroring FR3.5: Magnussen secures pole for race two

Kevin Magnussen Kevin Magnussen boosted his chances of further extending his Formula Renault 3.5 championship lead by taking pole position for race two at the Hungaroring.

The McLaren Formula 1 junior, who stormed from 16th on the grid to second in race one on Saturday, took control of the session in the closing minutes, fighting off attacks from Arthur Pic and title rival Stoffel Vandoorne.

Vandoorne appeared to have secured a front row slot alongside his fellow McLaren-affiliated racer, but he was knocked back to third as last man across the line Antonio Felix da Costa pulled out a quick lap.

Da Costa's hopes of improving on the fifth place he held at the start of that lap appeared to have been ruined when a car locked up and went off ahead of him at Turn 1, but he was unaffected by that moment as he set a personal best first sector on his way to landing second place.

Vandoorne will share the second row with Marco Sorensen, while Pic had to settle for fifth after holding top spot once everyone had completed their runs on their first set of tyres.

The top six was completed by race one polesitter Andre Negrao, who had major work carried out on the electrics of his car after he was blighted by problems in Saturday's race.

Any hopes Will Stevens had of maintaining his status as a dark horse in the title race took a big hit, as he stopped very early in the session and will have to start last.

Pos Driver                   Team               Time       Gap   
 1. Kevin Magnussen          DAMS               1m29.412s  	   
 2. Antonio Felix da Costa   Arden Caterham     1m29.596s  +0.184s
 3. Stoffel Vandoorne        Fortec             1m29.689s  +0.277s
 4. Marco Sorensen           Lotus              1m29.777s  +0.365s
 5. Arthur Pic               AV Formula         1m29.969s  +0.557s
 6. Andre Negrao             Draco              1m30.158s  +0.746s
 7. Will Buller              Zeta Corse         1m30.180s  +0.768s
 8. Nico Muller              Draco              1m30.230s  +0.818s
 9. Carlos Huertas           Carlin             1m30.331s  +0.919s
10. Nigel Melker             Tech 1             1m30.350s  +0.938s
11. Oliver Webb              Fortec             1m30.391s  +0.979s
12. Sergey Sirotkin          ISR                1m30.437s  +1.025s
13. Carlos Sainz             Zeta Corse         1m30.454s  +1.042s
14. Marlon Stockinger        Lotus              1m30.504s  +1.092s
15. Christopher Zanella      ISR                1m30.540s  +1.128s
16. Jazeman Jaafar           Carlin             1m30.614s  +1.202s
17. Norman Nato              DAMS               1m30.664s  +1.252s
18. Mikhail Aleshin          Tech 1             1m30.718s  +1.306s
19. Nikolai Martsenko        Pons R             1m30.783s  +1.371s
20. Lucas Foresti            Comtec             1m30.851s  +1.439s
21. Daniil Move              Comtec             1m31.016s  +1.604s
22. Zoel Amberg              Pons               1m31.020s  +1.608s
23. Matias Laine             P1                 1m31.048s  +1.636s
24. Pietro Fantin            Arden Caterham     1m31.210s  +1.798s
25. Yann Cunha               AV Formula         1m31.649s  +2.237s
26. Will Stevens             P1                 no time          

  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Da Costa takes second win of 2013
Muller dominates Hungarian opener
Negrao prevails in chaotic qualifying
Sainz sets practice pace in Hungary