Click to view our fantastic subscription offers

Instant access to the F1 paddock

You have 10 views remaining

You have read 5 stories this month. After 15, you will need to register or subscribe.

Register with us for free to view 60 stories a month.

Or subscribe to AUTOSPORT+ for unlimited news stories and access to our exclusive subscriber-only content.

Our commitment to quality journalism

We've introduced metered access to AUTOSPORT which will ensure that the majority of our visitors can continue to view the site for free. But we think that is worth a small investment from those who use it most, so that we can continue to send the leading experts in their field to motor racing paddocks all over the world to break the latest news and produce the most compelling interviews and race reports.

Every visitor gets 15 free page views per month. Once you reach the limit you can register to get 60 views or choose one of our value-for-money subscription packages to continue viewing and to get additional access to a range of features including:

  • Unlimited access to AUTOSPORT with news and views from the paddock
  • Enjoy AUTOSPORT+: subscriber-only analysis, comment and top-quality pictures
  • Get AUTOSPORT magazine in a digital format on your computer or iPad every week
  • Full access to FORIX - the world's best motorsport statistics website

We greatly appreciate your continued support to keep AUTOSPORT at the forefront of motorsport coverage, and we look forward to welcoming you as a new subscriber.

Glenn Freeman Editor
Find out more about our subscriptions

Moscow DTM: Mike Rockenfeller wins series' Russian debut

Mike Rockenfeller wins Moscow DTM race 2013Mike Rockenfeller opened up a comfortable lead in the DTM title race by winning at Moscow Raceway while chief rival Bruno Spengler failed to score.

Schnitzer BMW driver Spengler was spun out of eighth spot by Rockenfeller's Phoenix Audi team-mate Miguel Molina at Turn 1 on the fourth lap (pictured below).

While Molina retired soon after, Spengler fell to the tail of the field and could only nurse his damaged M3 to the finish in 19th.

Rockenfeller led until his first pitstop, which came after a 44-lap stint on the championship's soft 'option' tyres. He fell behind Mattias Ekstrom's Abt A5 for the net leadership of the race.

Ekstrom looked good for victory until midway into his second stint, when his pace slowed just enough to ensure that his Audi stablemate Rockenfeller would be back ahead following the final round of stops.

Rockenfeller's third career win gives him a 27-point series lead over Spengler with Gary Paffett 10 points further back.

Adrien Tambay ran longest of all during his first stint. His 56 laps on a single set of options gave him clear air for more than half of the race.

His reward was fourth at the chequered flag after the Abt driver had started 12th. He only just missed out on taking the final podium spot from second-row starter Augusto Farfus; the pair running side-by-side into Turn 1 with three laps left.

Bruno Spengler spins, Moscow DTM 2013Gary Paffett was the best-placed Mercedes driver in fifth for HWA, the Brit having made one of the few on-track passing moves of the race on Jamie Green's Audi. The pair rubbed panels as Paffett went past into Turn 1 late on.

Joey Hand drove a fine race to seventh in his RBM BMW, one place ahead of Dirk Werner's Schnitzer M3. Timo Scheider and Christian Vietoris completed the top 10.

Edoardo Mortara failed to finish, the handling of his Audi out of sorts after early contact with Daniel Juncadella, Marco Wittmann and Martin Tomczyk.

Results - 74 laps:

Pos  Driver              Team/Car            Time/Gap
 1.  Mike Rockenfeller   Phoenix Audi    1h14m38.512s
 2.  Mattias Ekstrom     Abt Audi             +1.303s
 3.  Augusto Farfus      RBM BMW             +11.393s
 4.  Adrien Tambay       Abt Audi            +12.275s
 5.  Gary Paffett        HWA Mercedes        +17.495s
 6.  Jamie Green         Abt Audi            +18.704s
 7.  Joey Hand           RBM BMW             +19.363s
 8.  Dirk Werner         Schnitzer BMW       +26.117s
 9.  Timo Scheider       Abt Audi            +34.184s
10.  Christian Vietoris  HWA Mercedes        +41.331s
11.  Pascal Wehrlein     Mucke Mercedes      +42.029s
12.  Robert Wickens      HWA Mercedes        +43.782s
13.  Filipe Albuquerque  Rosberg Audi        +44.443s
14.  Roberto Merhi       HWA Mercedes        +51.576s
15.  Marco Wittmann      MTEK BMW            +52.941s
16.  Timo Glock          MTEK BMW            +54.421s
17.  Martin Tomczyk      RMG BMW             +58.460s
18.  Daniel Juncadella   Mucke Mercedes        +1 lap
19.  Bruno Spengler      Schnitzer BMW         +1 lap
20.  Andy Priaulx        RMG BMW               +1 lap


     Edoardo Mortara     Rosberg Audi         31 laps
     Miguel Molina       Phoenix Audi          5 laps
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Breaking news feed
Live commentary feed
Rockenfeller takes bizarre pole
Spengler fastest in Moscow practice