Find out more about our subscriptions

IndyCar Milwaukee: Marco Andretti fastest in practice

Marco Andretti opened this weekend's IndyCar round at the Milwaukee Mile by setting the fastest time in today's opening practice session.

Andretti moved to the top with a lap of 21.9217s just over 10 minutes before the end of the session to lower the previous marker set by team-mate Ryan Hunter-Reay by just 0.0183s, and the time remained unbeaten.

Josef Newgarden finished up with the third-fastest lap ahead of Tristan Vautier and Will Power on a morning where the top nine were covered by 0.1s.

The session was interrupted by just one brief caution period when James Hinchcliffe scraped the wall at Turn 2, but the Canadian quickly returned to the pits under his own power and finished the morning with the 10th-fastest time.

Pos Driver               Team/Engine      Time     Gap         Laps
 1. Marco Andretti       Andretti/Chevy   21.9217s              33
 2. Ryan Hunter-Reay     Andretti/Chevy   21.9400s  + 0.0183s   33
 3. Josef Newgarden      Fisher/Honda     22.0006s  + 0.0789s   51
 4. Tristan Vautier      Schmidt/Honda    22.0603s  + 0.1386s   54
 5. Will Power           Penske/Chevy     22.0618s  + 0.1401s   58
 6. EJ Viso              Andretti/Chevy   22.0948s  + 0.1731s   37
 7. Helio Castroneves    Penske/Chevy     22.1017s  + 0.1800s   33
 8. Tony Kanaan          KV/Chevy         22.1226s  + 0.2009s   31
 9. Simona de Silvestro  KV/Chevy         22.2295s  + 0.3078s   59
10. James Hinchcliffe    Andretti/Chevy   22.2329s  + 0.3112s   17
11. Ana Beatriz          Coyne/Honda      22.2477s  + 0.3260s   71
12. Alex Tagliani        Herta/Honda      22.2492s  + 0.3275s   46
13. Scott Dixon          Ganassi/Honda    22.2582s  + 0.3365s   34
14. Sebastian Saavedra   Dragon/Chevy     22.2598s  + 0.3381s   56
15. Ryan Briscoe         Panther/Chevy    22.3122s  + 0.3905s   54
16. Charlie Kimball      Ganassi/Honda    22.3288s  + 0.4071s   61
17. Justin Wilson        Coyne/Honda      22.3401s  + 0.4184s   34
18. Graham Rahal         Rahal/Honda      22.3481s  + 0.4264s   48
19. Sebastian Bourdais   Dragon/Chevy     22.3740s  + 0.4523s   51
20. Takuma Sato          Foyt/Honda       22.3793s  + 0.4576s   30
21. Dario Franchitti     Ganassi/Honda    22.3865s  + 0.4648s   22
22. Simon Pagenaud       Schmidt/Honda    22.3915s  + 0.4698s   52
23. James Jakes          Rahal/Honda      22.4584s  + 0.5367s   46
24. Ed Carpenter         Carpenter/Chevy  22.5771s  + 0.6554s   43

  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Hunter-Reay takes Milwaukee win
Andretti claims Milwaukee pole
Andretti quickest again at Milwaukee