Find out more about our subscriptions

Silverstone British F3: King gets top score behind Bryant-Meisner

Jordan King wins Silverstone British F3 race 2013Jordan King took race-winning points in the final race of the British Formula 3 International Series weekend at Silverstone, but was second on the road behind Invitation Class runner John Bryant-Meisner.

King, from the front row, lost out to Will Buller at the start, but an attempt by the Northern Irishman to take the lead from Bryant-Meisner delayed him and King, allowing Felix Serralles up to third.

Serralles made a move on Buller on the Wellington Straight, but as Buller moved over the Puerto Rican kept his foot in and was edged onto the grass, then bounced across the kerb at Brooklands and crashed into his Fortec Motorsport Dallara-Mercedes team-mate.

King therefore moved up to second on the road ahead of the delayed Buller. He brought the gap to Bryant-Meisner's Performance Racing Dallara-Volkswagen down to one second, but could not make any further inroads.

In turn, King's Carlin Dallara-Volkswagen was never really troubled by Buller, who nevertheless set overall fastest lap and extended his championship lead.

"I did want to get past Bryant-Meisner," said King, "but he had that extra bit of bottom-end power. But through the corners we were as good if not better. Our race pace was really good and the car very consistent."

Felipe Guimaraes was looking good to complete the International Class podium in his Fortec car, but a drive-through penalty for track-limits offences promoted Carlin's Jann Mardenborough to his maiden podium appearance in single-seaters.

Ed Jones wins Silverstone British F3 National ClassIt also moved Nicholas Latifi (Carlin) up to fifth overall, and from then on interest centred on Guimaraes making his way past the Double R trio - led by Antonio Giovinazzi - to finish sixth on the road.

Ed Jones completed a National Class hat-trick in his Team West-Tec Dallara-Toyota, although this time the Emirati dropped his first point as the chasing Sun Zheng took fastest lap.

The Chinese driver was a secure second in his CF Racing Dallara-Mugen Honda, despite a couple of moments on the grass.

Once again Briton Cameron Twynham showed good overtaking prowess to complete the podium in his West-Tec car.

Results - 16 laps:

Pos  Cl     Driver              Team/Car                    Time/Gap
 1.  Inv    John Bryan-Meisner  Performance Dallara-VW    31m06.979s
 2.  Int    Jordan King         Carlin Dallara-VW           + 1.018s
 3.  Int    Will Buller         Fortec Dallara-Merc         + 7.138s
 4.  Int    Jann Mardenborough  Carlin Dallara-VW          + 11.334s
 5.  Int    Nicholas Latifi     Carlin Dallara-VW          + 14.662s
 6.  Int    Felipe Guimaraes    Fortec Dallara-Merc        + 31.848s
 7.  Int    Antonio Giovinazzi  Double R Dallara-Merc      + 33.368s
 8.  Int    Sean Gelael         Double R Dallara-Merc      + 39.226s
 9.  Int    Tatiana Calderon    Double R Dallara-Merc      + 41.190s
10.  Nat    Ed Jones            West-Tec Dallara-Toyota    + 56.719s
11.  Nat    Sun Zheng           CF Dallara-Mugen         + 1m02.485s
12.  Nat    Cameron Twynham     West-Tec Dallara-Toyota  + 1m15.550s
13.  Nat    Roberto la Rocca    West-Tec Dallara-Toyota  + 1m23.296s
14.  Nat    Sean Walkinshaw     West-Tec Dallara-Toyota  + 1m38.524s
15.  Nat    Huan Zhu            West-Tec Dallara-Toyota  + 2m10.475s
16.  Nat    Liam Venter         West-Tec Dallara-Toyota      + 1 lap
17.  Nat B  Alice Powell        MBR Dallara-Toyota           + 1 lap


     Nat    Chris Vlok          West-Tec Dallara-Toyota      12 laps
     Int    Felix Serralles     Fortec Dallara-Merc            1 lap
Daytona Competition
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Giovinazzi claims maiden F3 win
Bryant-Meisner wins, points to Buller
Bryant-Meisner's boost disconnected
Bryant-Meisner gets Silverstone poles
King tops Silverstone practice