Find out more about our subscriptions

Brands Hatch European F3: Raffaele Marciello wins Sunday race

Raffaele Marciello wins Brands Hatch European Formula 3 raceRaffaele Marciello took another Formula 3 European Championship win in the Sunday morning race at Brands Hatch to further extend his considerable points lead.

The Italian braved it out around the outside of pole-starting team-mate Alex Lynn at Paddock Hill Bend just after the start, and once again Lucas Auer chased them in what looked set to be another 1-2-3 for the Prema Powerteam Dallara-Mercedes squad.

Lynn was holding the gap to Marciello at around a second when he spun at Paddock on the 15th lap, and appeared to stall the car as he came to rest in the middle of the track.

Team-mate Eddie Cheever, running in 16th place, reacted very quickly but was unable to avoid clipping Lynn with his right-front tyre, and crashed off track at Druids.

The safety car came out for three laps, and Auer got a run at Marciello away from the restart, but the Ferrari protege rebuilt the gap and was eventually able to extend a two-second buffer by the finish.

NEWS UPDATE: Marciello stripped of race-three win

Britain's Harry Tincknell became the first non-Prema driver to bag a podium this weekend in his Carlin Dallara-Volkswagen (pictured).

He was shadowed throughout the race by the Mucke Motorsport Dallara-Mercedes of Felix Rosenqvist, who in turn had Sven Muller (Ma-Con Dallara-VW) challenging him.

Harry Tincknell on the Brands Hatch European Formula 3 podium 2013Behind the top five, the race was rendered rather farcical by a spate of drive-through penalties for improving sector times under yellow flags.

Felix Serralles and Tatiana Calderon took penalties before the safety car, while after it Daniil Kvyat, Spike Goddard, Josh Hill, Serralles (again), Jordan King, Will Buller, Pipo Derani and Sean Gelael paid the same price.

Tom Blomqvist, who had been running eighth behind King and Hill, therefore moved up to claim sixth, while Lucas Wolf, Nicholas Latifi, Roy Nissany and Antonio Giovinazzi - who had stalled at the start - completed the points finishers.

King was the best finisher of those to have taken a penalty, claiming 12th place, as Buller held off Hill for 13th. The other Briton, Welshman Jann Mardenborough, retired to the pits at the end of the first lap with damage incurred in a collision.

Results - 48 laps:

Pos Driver              Team/Car                       Time/Gap
 1. Raffaelle Marciello Prema Dallara-Merc             35m03.945s
 2. Lucas Auer          Prema Dallara-Merc             + 1.865s
 3. Harry Tincknell     Carlin Dallara-VW              + 5.743s
 4. Felix Rosenqvist    Mucke Dallara-Merc             + 6.244s
 5. Sven Muller         Ma-con Dallara-VW              + 6.962s
 6. Tom Blomqvist       Eurointernational Dallara-VW   + 11.523s
 7. Lucas Wolf          URD Dallara-VW                 + 15.039s
 8. Nicholas Latifi     Carlin Dallara-VW              + 17.983s
 9. Roy Nissany         Mucke Dallara-Merc             + 21.489s
10. Antonio Giovinazzi  Double R Dallara-Merc          + 22.454s
11. Andre Rudersdorf    Ma-con Dallara-VW              + 27.466s
12. Jordan King         Carlin Dallara-VW              + 27.795s
13. Will Buller         T-Sport Dallara-Nissan         + 31.167s
14. Josh Hill           Fortec Dallara-Merc            + 31.572s
15. Daniil Kvyat        Carlin Dallara-VW              + 32.907s
16. Sandro Zeller       Zeller Dallara-Merc            + 1 lap
17. Felix Serralles     Fortec Dallara-Merc            + 1 lap
18. Pipo Derani         Fortec Dallara-Merc            + 1 lap
19. Spike Goddard       T-Sport Dallara-Nissan         + 1 lap
20. Michela Cerruti     Ferraris Dallara-Merc          + 1 lap
21. Tatiana Calderon    Double R Dallara-Merc          + 1 lap


   Sean Gelael         Double R Dallara-Merc           42 laps
   Mitchell Gilbert    Mucke Dallara-Merc              37 laps
   Alex Lynn           Prema Dallara-Merc              14 laps
   Eddie Cheever       Prema Dallara-Merc              14 laps
   Mans Grenhagen      Van Amersfoort Dallara-VW        6 laps
   Dennis van de Laar  Van Amersfoort Dallara-VW        1 lap
   Jann Mardenborough  Carlin Dallara-VW                1 lap

  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Breaking news feed
Live commentary feed
Marciello stripped of race-three win
Marciello beats Lynn in race two
Lynn claims maiden win at Brands
Lewis released from hospital
Lewis unlikely to race after crash
Lynn takes Brands F3 pole hat-trick
Auer sets practice pace at Brands